Bluesman On the Corner

Bluesman

Got an old, dusty 6-string
Walkin’ down the line
Whenever I break a string
I replace it with fishin’ twine
No one wants to pay
To hear my fractured rhyme
Might be livin’ low on life
But I ain’t doin’ time
Find me sittin’ on the corner
By the ol’ hotel
Watchin’ all the people pass
Hear the stories they have to tell
All I got’s my guitar
Always on the roam
Wherever I fall asleep
Is where I call my home
I drink and pick all night
Sittin’ in the park
For all the lonely junkies
Shootin’ up in the dark.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2015

15 Comments Add yours

  1. It was really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you. I have a few other poems I’ve posted under “Poetry” you might also enjoy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Expressed so well.. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I have a few other poems up you might also be interested in.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am sure I’d enjoy the ..

        Like

  3. Richard D says:

    Great. Blues on blues. Love it. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      No problem, glad you liked it and thanks for saying so. I have a few other poems up you might enjoy as well.

      Like

  4. Heartafire says:

    Fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Heartafire says:

        very much so!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Drew Martin says:

        I’ve got a few other poems on the blog you might also enjoy. I plan on posting at least one, maybe two a week.

        Like

Leave a Reply

