My Year in Books 2015

Capture1

This was the second year in a row I participated in the goodreads.com Reading Challenge. My pledge was to read 15 books in 2015. I meet my goal, but didn’t surpass it. I was happy to read that many books in a single year and don’t think I’ve ever read that many books in one year. For 2016, I pledged to read another 15, but I plan to make every attempt to read at least one book over my goal. Wish me luck. I am proud of meeting my reading goals and hope you had an enjoyable reading experience over the past year. I discovered a new favorite in The Talisman and I hope you did as well. Here’s to a well read 2016. This is what my 2015 year in books looked like in the order I read them and how I rated them at the time. The ratings can always change with more readings. Some of these might find themselves onto the 2016 list so I can write more reviews and find other sources of inspiration between their pages.

middle

Capture

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft 4/5

Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada by Anonymous 5/5

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll 4/5

The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli 5/5

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey 5/5

Summer of Love: The Inside Story of LSD, Rock & Roll, Free Love and High Times in the Wild West by Joel Selvin 3/5

The Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors by Philip Coppens 5/5

This Wheel’s On Fire: Levon Helm and the Story of the Band by Levon Helm 5/5

Fingerprints of the Gods: The Evidence of Earth’s Lost Civilization by Graham Hancock 5/5

Strangest and Amazing Wrestling Stories by Bill Gutman 2/5

The Twilight Zone: The Original Stories Edited by Martin Harry Greenberg, Richard Matheson, and Charles G. Waugh 5/5

The Talisman by Stephen King & Peter Straub 5/5

‘Salem’s Lot by Stephen King 3/5

It’s Halloween by Jack Prelutsky 5/5

Magicians of the Gods: The Forgotten Wisdom of Earth’s Lost Civilization by Graham Hancock 2/5

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

4 Comments Add yours

  1. sibillerose says:

    I love the Goodreads Challenge (I’ve participated since 2014). I sadly didn’t reach my goal of 30 last year (I hit 25 instead), so I’m trying for 30 again (I’ve gotten in 3 so far!) Good luck with hitting your goal this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      I’ve got one down and half of another. Went and got a library card. I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself so I stuck with 15 again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sibillerose says:

        Good to hear and the library card is a great idea. And yeah, this challenge shouldn’t be something that stresses you out, but instead encourages you to read. I know I always carry a book around with me because I can always find a few minutes to read when I’m out and about (like waiting in lines or waiting to be seated at a restaurant). (I’m also a fast reader which is why my goal is so high — I didn’t want to imply 15 wasn’t a good goal — I think reading anything at all is a good goal as some people don’t read for pleasure at all.)

        Also, a few of the books you read last year are on my to-read list this year (hoping I get to them sooner rather than later). So, I’m glad to see you gave them high ratings 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Drew Martin says:

        I wrote reviews on some of them, and I never spoil anything. I’ve never been a fast reader, I would feel overwhelmed if I had a huge number to read.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

