Week in Review 4.2.2016 – 4.7.2016

archive11

I normally make this end of the week post on Saturday. Due to an illness, I couldn’t do that this past Saturday. This is the first day I’ve been able to sneak it in somewhere. Here’s what I was up to this week. If anything catches your eye, go check it out. If you liked it, let me know. Click the like button, share it, even leave me a comment. I try my best to respond to any comments, even those that aren’t questions. Feel free to browse around and click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I do several posts a week, so there should be something for everyone.

 

sailorslament4.2.2016 – Sunday – Dear Mistress (A Sailor’s Lament) – A poem written from the point of view of a sailor from centuries ago. He details how a sailor feels about the sea, the love, the loathing, the entire relationship when wooden ships sailed with the aid of the wind and cloth sails.

“And what of us, dear mistress

Those you gave a home

Were with you on boiling days

And nights where your tears fell from the sky…”

 

12832379_1686808941568642_5508641676662824337_n4.3.2016 – Monday – The Love of a Cat – A short introspective piece of creative writing prose. I write about my cats and how I love them and how they love me back. I take a look at why I’m a cat person and others might not be. This one for the cat people. They might not understand every little thing, but they’ll understand the main point.

“I love all my cats. All six of them. Each one of them is my favorite in their own way. I can’t pick one over the other. It isn’t fair to them, and that’s the most important thing. I have to appreciate them for who they are, and what they offer. Nothing more, nothing less. A person can’t force a cat to fit a mold or do anything. They are similar in species and to their breed, yet are individuals to the end. More so than humans ever thought to be. Theirs is the purest form of individuality, unswayed by anything…”

 

Barlow&Bradley4.4.2016 – Tuesday – Kurt Barlow & Boo Radley – Brothers in Arms – I discovered a new favorite literary character, To Kill a Mockingbird’s Boo Radley. His presence reminded me of another new favorite from the past year, ‘Salem’s Lot’s Kurt Barlow. I contrast the two novels these characters appear in, yet compare my favorite characters between the pages. While I’m not sure if anyone else would make this link, I did. I’ll explain what I read I found so similar, along with how I arrived at my conclusion.

“I doubt many people could establish any link between Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird and Stephen King’s ‘Salem’s Lot. To the casual reader, there isn’t anything to connect. I suspect even the avid reader would struggle to make a connection. These novels don’t share a setting, narrator, time period, genre, or theme. The authors have nothing in common. What could possibly link the two novels? Who could establish a link? I did, in a way, and not so much between the novels. Well, I give them a similar rating and place both in my third group of books, those that are just ok. In reading both novels, I discovered characters in each who quickly became my favorites in those pages. I don’t think the authors wrote or intended them to become anyone’s favorite. Then again, I’m a bit weird, and very much the exception as opposed to the rule…”

 

stoogesvolume24.6.2016 – Thursday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 2 Disc 1 – I review the first disc of the second volume in the collection. There’s 13 shorts, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

 

mockingbirdfilmcover4.7.2016 – Friday – To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) Film Review – My review of the film adaptation. I compare and contrast the film and novel without going into specifics and spoilers. I also talk about the exact point where the movie hooked me. There’s two very powerful scenes in this film. I also have a few words about the performances of Gregory Peck (Atticus Finch) and Robert Duvall (Boo Radley).

“As I read To Kill a Mockingbird, I knew there was a famous film adaptation of it. I’ve become a fan of reading a novel, and if I can finish and enjoy it, watching the film adaptation. It’s an overall enjoyable experience. Even if an individual experience in getting through a film might not be. I enjoy the compare and contrast between novel and film. Some novels I read and can’t figure out how a film adaptation would work. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of those novels. As I said in my review of the novel, I thought it was ok, but not the “classic of American literature” it’s become. I didn’t expect much going in to this viewing experience. After watching and allowing an hour to settle and digest, I can say the film is a better experience…”

That’s it for this past week. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. If you see something you like, click the like button, and please feel free to leave me a comment. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

