Street Light Shoppin’

streetlightshoppin

Street light shoppin’
In the pourin’ rain
Don’t want a bus
Don’t need no down town train
Standin’ still
‘Neath a dull yellow glow
Thinkin’ back on things
I used to know
That was then
So far away
But it was only
Yesterday
Don’t want tomorrow
To come too soon
Drunk again
In the afternoon
Leave the silence
Bring me some more
Gonna use it
To bar the door
Know what I mean
Got the words all wrong
The way it goes
When I write this song
It’s one I’ve written
Time after time
Slingin’ words
Into a rhyme
Just a little
Game I know
Take a turn
Before you go
Ain’t no way
To win or lose
Or hide away
All the abuse
A way to cope
To dull the pain
Street light shoppin’
In the pourin’ rain.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

8 Comments Add yours

  1. sourgirlohio says:

    I like this one. I’m all about examining those individual moments in life that could easily go unnoticed.
    I also like lamp posts a lot 😉 Nice pic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I wrote this within the last week or so and really liked it. My poems are the hardest things to post because I really like each one I post and feel like they never get the views/likes I feel they should. Not sure if it’s just me. As for the pic, I found a couple I was on the fence about using, but I liked the contrast between the lights and the night, and it had a better size. Glad you liked the whole package. Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mywords2228 says:

    This is a very good piece, and I think what you commented above about how you really like the post and feel it should get more views/likes. It’s not just you for I feel everyone who is on here feels that way when they post something they are really proud of. I feel this way too when i post a poem on my page as well, I just think we just have to wait and one day more will see your great work. But in the meantime I’m going to check out your page so thank for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you for the kind words and understanding. Feel free to look around. I have a lot of poetry, but a bunch of reviews and creative writing pieces.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. mywords2228 says:

        Your welcome. Will definitely look at everything!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. gentlemanx9 says:

    Nice poem, and good redesign for the blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I’ve got a few more updates in mind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

