Week in Review 4.24.2016-4.30.2016

archive11

Here’s what I was up to this week. If anything catches your eye, go check it out. If you liked it, let me know. Click the like button, share it, even leave me a comment. I try my best to respond to any comments, even those that aren’t questions. Feel free to browse around and click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I do several posts a week, so there should be something for everyone.

 

100_0225

4.24.2016 – Sunday – Cinnamon – This is a poem about our second oldest cat, a little orange female named Cinnamon. There’s a little introduction, followed by a poem about when we first got her and the special bond between her and my wife.

“There once was a cat
So young and petite
Who walked through the world
On the tiniest feet…”

 

100_2228

4.25.2016 – Monday – The Return of the Pastel Season – Spring 2016 Part II – A creative writing piece about the true beginning of spring as the weather is warmer and there are signs of life everywhere. I took the photograph the morning before publishing from my back patio.

“The night air still harbors a chill though it lacks the bite it once had. These nights come less often and are becoming a distant memory. A bad dream forgotten beneath the warmth of a bright spring sun. Signs of new life sprout in all directions. A rebirth of the natural world. Fields, pastures, and valleys take on an emerald hue as grass shoots to the sky. This is a happy time for the mountains. The trees covering the landscape no longer resemble gnarled skeletons. Fresh leaves budding on branches offer a youthful exuberance…”

 

100_2232

4.26.2016 – Tuesday – Books on Tap – With six books in front of me and not knowing where to begin reading, I wrote a piece asking for help. I list the book along with release year, author, goodreads.com summary, and why I’m thinking of reading it first. I’m still taking suggestions.

“In front of me sit six books. These are the next books I’ll read and review, so the problem isn’t a shortage. The problem is trying to decide which one I should read first, and what order I should read them. Why do I have so many unread books in front of me? How did I find myself in this position? What are these books? All good questions. I guess the first two questions are similar and have a similar answer. I recently had a birthday, and I was due a new book to read and review from the kind people at the Blogging for Books program. Of the six books, here’s how they break down by the numbers. Four were birthday gifts I asked my wife to get me. One was a surprise gift. The final one is from Blogging for Books…”

 

stoogesvolume3

4.27.2016 – Wednesday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 3 Disc 1 – I review the first disc of the third volume in the collection. There’s 13 films, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

 

younaztyspysalute

4.28.2016 – Thursday – The Three Stooges – You Nazty Spy! (1940) & I’ll Never Heil Again (1941) Review – Both of these shorts appear on the previous post. They contain so much historical information I felt they warranted a separate post of their own. These short films are important in the history of American film, and the history of America.

“For some people it might be easy to dismiss the Three Stooges. They aren’t amused by the puns, jokes, or slapstick. They see the Stooges as a trio of middle-aged men slapping each other, poking eyes, and throwing pies. The Stooges are like pro wrestling way back when it was pro wrestling. You either love it or hate it. I love the Stooges. Even if you are one of these people who dismiss the Stooges, there’s two important shorts you can’t dismiss. These two are not only important in the history of American film, but the history of America…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? There’s going to be more Three Stooges posts, the second disc of Volume 3. On Friday there’s a new season of one of my favorite shows, Ancient Aliens. I think I’ll write something up for that. There’s going to be the normal #PoetrySunday poem, but I’m not sure which one I’m going to use. This coming week is kind of up in the air, but I’ll have several posts. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. If you see something you like, click the like button, and please feel free to leave me a comment. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

