Week in Review 5.08.2016-5.14.2016

archive11

Here’s what I was up to this week. If anything catches your eye, go check it out. If you liked it, let me know. Click the like button, share it, even leave me a comment. I try my best to respond to any comments, even those that aren’t questions. Feel free to browse around and click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I do several posts a week, so there should be something for everyone.

 

eea649c6d938a954111d94bbdfe804f2

5.08.2016 – Sunday – The Last Gunslinger – A poem inspired by the final days of the Wild West. A time when new technology came at the start of a new century. This tells the saga of the last outlaws in the Wild West’s dying days.

“Be it tall in the saddle
Or on a dusty street
Got a cold six shooter
For all he’ll meet…”

 

grillin

5.09.2016 – Monday – Grillin’ & Chillin’ – A piece I posted many months ago, deleted, and reposted after a solid weekend of grilling. I talk about my love of grilling, and the methods I use. I also include two links to YouTube pages for people who want to get into grilling, very helpful people.

“I love to grill. I like to cook, but I LOVE to grill. It’s like cooking, which I enjoy, but different. Hank Hill would be proud. I’d tell him I use charcoal. This would disappoint him. He’d try to sell me a propane grill. I have no need for propane or propane accessories. If you’re going to use a gas grill cook inside on a burner or in the oven. In a way it’s cheating. You don’t see gas grills at a grill-off do you? No electric grills either. Charcoal is the way to go…”

 

cookbook5.10.2016 – Tuesday – Reading & Reviewing a Cookbook – Last week I reviewed a cookbook. It made me think that most people wouldn’t think you could read or review one. Those people are wrong. I explain how to read and review a cookbook, and this method applies to any cookbook regardless of author or cuisine.

“Some people think you can’t read a cookbook. They’ll say you can’t review them. It’s a cookbook. No plot. No story. What’s to read? Just browse the table of contents when you need to make dinner. Since there’s nothing going on, there’s nothing to review. Well, dear friends, I’m here to tell you there’s a flaw to this logic. Not only is it flawed, it’s downright wrong. Allow me to explain and straighten all this out…”

 

stoogesvolume3

5.11.2016 – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 3 Recap – I reviewed both discs of Volume 3 and in the recap I combine them. This is similar to my Twilight Zone season recaps. I share my thoughts and perhaps a little information, then list all the shorts on the volume along with release date, writer, and rating. A “Best of” list finishes the recap. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

“The third volume of The Ultimate Collection consisted of 23 shorts spanning 1940-1942. Columbia Pictures released all 23 shorts as they would all 190 Three Stooges shorts over the years. Nine shorts received a theatrical release in 1940. Seven apiece appeared in 1941 and 1942. Of all the years the Three Stooges performed as a team, 1941 could rank as their finest year. The opposite could hold true of 1942. It’s still too early to tell for sure. The first year covered in this volume, 1940, is in a dog fight for second best. My favorite short is from 1940. The political satire of Hitler and Nazi Germany, You Nazty Spy!…”

 

hellisforheroeos(1962)cover

5.12.2016 – Thursday – Hell Is For Heroes (1962) Review – A review of the Steve McQueen World War II classic. I can’t believe I’ve never seen this before now. A great film, it kept me on the edge of my seat. Besides Steve McQueen, this movie has a stellar cast including Fess Parker and a young James Coburn. There’s a more on the co-stars in the piece.

“Old films. Black and white films. World War II films. I like all these kinds of films. When they’re combined into a single entity, it’s hard for me not to like it. Then there’s the cast. A good actor can make a film. A great actor can make a film special. What about a great actor, in a great film, with other great actors? Established stars in lead roles, or soon-to-be greats featured early in their careers. What if both of these things hold true? Adding all these various elements together yields one hell of a film. Hell, by the way, is for heroes. At least it was in 1962…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? There’s going to be more Three Stooges posts, a review of the first disc of the fourth volume. This is a special week for my blog, my one-year anniversary. I’ll write something up for the occasion and repost my original piece. While I’m not sure what kind of poem I’ll have on Sunday, I’ll have one. I hope you’ll join me in celebrating the milestone. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. If you see something you like, click the like button, and please feel free to leave me a comment. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You are prolific Drew! It’s great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

