Week in Review 5.15.2016-5.21.2016

archive11

Here’s what I was up to this week. A philosophical science-fiction poem, a Three Stooges film review of the first disc of Volume 4, a thought piece celebrating my first year as a blogger, and a rewritten version of my original post. The last one is my mission statement, my philosophy on writing, and advice to fellow writers and artists to follow. If anything catches your eye, go check it out. If you liked it, let me know. Click the like button, share it, even leave me a comment. I try my best to respond to any comments, even those that aren’t questions. Feel free to browse around and click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I do several posts a week, so there should be something for everyone.

 

space_wallpaper_perfect_background_562

5.15.2016 – Sunday – Is All of This Really Real? (All of What I Think and Feel)? – A philosophical poem with a science fiction theme.

“Space-age science-fiction flight
Darting through the candlelight
Is all of this really real?
All of what I think and feel?…”

 

riddler_question_marks2

5.16.2016 – Monday – To Reblog or Not & If So How? Part II – The follow up to a previous post where I asked a question of my fellow bloggers. In this piece I ask a few more questions, but also offer a solution to the original question after reading the feedback and piecing it all together.

“In March, I asked a serious question of my fellow bloggers in the WordPress blogging community. I found my blog had grown in both views and followers since the New Year began. My question was To Reblog or Not & If So How? This piece received a great deal of feedback, positive feedback, and plenty of ideas to consider. Some said don’t delete old posts, others said hide the original. Many perspectives from many voices answered. I’ve given this question much thought over the past two months. I’ve deleted some posts when perhaps I shouldn’t have to repost them. While some posts may have needed deletion…”

 

volume4

5.18.2016 – Wednesday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 4 Disc 1I review the first disc of the fourth volume in the collection. There’s 10 films, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

 

free-fireworks-image-11

5.19.2016 – Thursday – My First Year of Blogging – A Milestone Anniversary – Saturday, May 21, 2016 marks my first full year as a blogger. On that date a year ago I published my first post. This piece is a thought retrospective on my first year as a blogger.

“I’m coming up on a milestone anniversary as a blogger. My blog will turn a year old on Saturday, May 21, 2016. The first piece I posted, No Genre Needed, went up on that date a year ago. The first piece was in effect a mission statement of sorts. It explained why my blog wouldn’t have a set theme or genre, and why I didn’t want it to have one. More than explain my blogging philosophy, this piece explains my overall philosophy on writing. To be honest, it covers any type of art form as far as I’m concerned. I still stand by it, every last word. Since that first post, over 200 more have followed. I’m proud to see my blog still going strong as it closes in on its first full year of existence. It was a struggle the first half when it didn’t appear I was getting readers as the views were low. Since the start of the New Year, I’ve seen more growth than I ever expected over the span of a few months…”

 

quill

5.20.2016 – Friday – No Genre Needed Redux – A reworked and rewritten version of my first ever post. It serves as my blog’s mission statement so to speak, explaining why there is no set theme. It also explains my philosophy on writing, and art in general.

“I don’t like feeling I must write to fit a certain genre. It seems almost everyone thinks they must fit into a certain category regardless of the art form. How else will people be able to find me and appreciate my work? This is a thought held by many creative people. They’re led to believe it. Belief is a funny thing. Anyone can believe in anything, but that doesn’t make it so…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? There’s going to be more Three Stooges posts, a review of the second disc of the fourth volume. The weekly #PoetrySunday poem has a dark, slightly evil bent to it. Monday will have either a writing tip or a grilling tip. I hope I can finish my current book, Harpo Speaks! by the end of the week and get a review up Friday. I might try to get a movie review or something similar in as well. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. If you see something you like, click the like button, and please feel free to leave me a comment. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

