Week in Review 5.22.2016-5.28.2016

weekinreview5.22.2016-5.28.2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A poem, a writing tip on short stories, a review of a Vincent Price/Peter Lorre film, and another Three Stooges review. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you want, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. This is the type of stuff I post. A nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow the button so you don’t miss anything.

devilcomearidinnow

5.22.2016 – Sunday – Devil Come A-Ridin’ Now – A dark poem with an evil theme.

“Devil come a-ridin’ now

Steal my soul

To the Gates of Hell

Where we lose control…”

 

quill

5.23.2016 – Monday – Writing Tip: How to Write a Short Story – I offer a few tips on writing a short story. Some people either don’t know how to start, or what to do once they begin. I try to give advice and answer some questions in this piece in hopes to help my fellow writers.

“The art of the short story. What is a short story? A short story is a brief work of literature, a piece prose, which can be read in a single sitting. Sounds like a simple concept. I’ll let you in on a secret. It is. Like most forms of art, there’s not much to writing a short story. Academics act like there is. They act like it’s a great thing only great writers can accomplish. Much like when writing poetry, it isn’t as hard as many people would have you believe. Again, we have few rules to restrain us. Keep the length in mind. Anyone can write a short story. Whether the story is good or not is open for debate, but anyone can write one…”

 

thecomedyofterrors1963

5.24.2016 – Wednesday – The Comedy of Terrors (1963) Review – My review of the 1963 horror comedy starring Vincent Price and Peter Lorre. I knew 10-15 minutes into my first viewing I wanted it in my collection and felt compelled to review it.

“Sometimes you see the cast of a film and expect a pleasurable viewing experience. How many times are you disappointed? Then there’s the title. Do you think about the titles of the films you watch? Sometimes a title is just a title and has nothing to do with the film. At the same time, a cast can be just that, a cast. Nothing more, nothing less. What about a title that actually describes the film? What about a cast that isn’t just a cast? The cast in question contains several top names, plus an orange tabby cat who gets his own credit and plenty of screen time. A film from a bygone age of Hollywood. Produced by a small company, and the film doesn’t feel like a low budget B-reel. It’s neither too serious, nor campy in hindsight. All the pieces fall in place to create a most enjoyable viewing experience. Ladies and gentlemen, I would like to introduce you to American International Pictures (AIP) 1963 comedy tale of horror, The Comedy of Terrors…”

 

volume4

5.25.2016 – Thursday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 4 Disc 2I review the second disc of the fourth volume in the collection. There’s 10 films, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? As always I’ll have a #PoetrySunday piece. There’s going to be more Three Stooges posts, a recap of the fourth volume. I’ve finished Harpo Marx’s autobiography and that will get reviewed. I’ll post another writing tip or perhaps a grilling tip for Memorial Day. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. If you see something you like, click the like button, and please feel free to leave me a comment. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

