Week in Review 6.12.2016-6.18.2016

week6.12.2016-6.18.2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A poem about my cats with a nice photograph of them, a creative writing piece about early summer along with a photograph, another Three Stooges review, and a Robin Hood book review. A good week for my photography. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow the button so you don’t miss anything.

 

100_2114

6.12.2016 – Sunday – A Question for Our Cats – An introspective, philosophical poem where I ask our cats a simple question. Sometimes you ask a question without expecting an answer, and sometimes you don’t want one. This is one of those times. The photograph is one of the better one’s I have of all our cats in frame. That feat doesn’t come easy.

“Hey there little ones
What happened before we met?
It’s ok, don’t tell me
Better you forget…”

 

earlysummer

6.13.2016 – Monday – The Lush Green of an Early Mountain Summer 2016 – Summer has arrived in the Southwest Virginia mountains. To celebrate, I wrote a short creative piece to document and coronate the summer of 2016. The photograph shows the view from my back patio, which I took just in time. Within hours a row of hay bales lined the property line to block the view.

“The pastels of spring no longer cover the vast mountainsides. They’ve come and gone, serving their purpose. Theirs is ushering forth rebirth from the death grip of a cold winter chill. In the place of pastels, as far as the eye can see in any direction, is a single color. A lush and vibrant green spreading across the fields and meadows while forming a natural canopy. Summer has finally arrived in the mountains. The nights no longer harbor a chill when the sun retreats behind the western horizon…”

 

volume5

6.15.2016 – Wednesday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 5 Disc 2 Review I review the second disc of the fifth volume in the collection. There’s 12 films, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

 

RobinHood

6.16.2016 – Thursday – The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood (1883) Review – One of my all-time favorite characters is the bandit of Sherwood Forest, Robin Hood. For the first time I read Howard Pyle’s original work, complete with his own illustrations. The book collects the original “Robin Hood ballads” and written in a way that holds their spirit.

“Of all the legends passed down through history, few remain as popular today as they were in their own time. One example are tales of an English outlaw who “robbed from the rich and gave to the poor.” Robin Hood and his merry men still inspire books, films, and television programs. Sometimes they stay true to the original “Robin Hood ballads” sung by medieval wandering minstrels. Other times there’s a new spin on the characters, or a new adaptation. Perhaps the closest we can come to the original ballads today is within the pages of Howard Pyle’s The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood, first published in 1883…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? As always, I’ll have a #PoetrySunday piece. There’s so many new ones and notebooks full of stuff. There’s going to be more Three Stooges reviews, a recap of volume five. I plan to review the classic Robin Hood film starring Errol Flynn. If I have time I’ll review a few more Robin Hood films. I’ve got several film reviews coming in the following weeks. I’ve started a new book, but the review is at least a week away. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

