Week in Review 7.3.2016-7.9.2016

weekinreview7.3.2016-7.9.2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A poem called Railroad Blues, a book review of Southern Spirits (2016), the second disc of the sixth Three Stooges volume review, a poetic tribute to Syd Barret, and a review of Disney’s Robin Hood (1973). Yes, there were two poems this week. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow the button so you don’t miss anything.

 

railroadblues

7.3.2016 – Sunday – Railroad Blues – A poem from the perspective of a railroad worker. Not one of today’s modern workers. Instead, this is the story of a railroad worker from the late 1800s when the railroads were expanding to connect the country.

“Got me diggin’ a ditch
‘Neath a boilin’ sun
For the railroad ties
You know it ain’t no fun…”

 

southernspirits

7.5.2016 – Tuesday – Southern Spirits (2016) Review – An interesting book on the history of drinking in the American South, with recipes. This book covers the last 400 years, starting with the first colonists who arrived in Virginia and North Carolina. The recipes are from the era and feature the alcohol discussed in each chapter.

“The time came for me to choose a new book from the Blogging for Books program, and one caught my eye. Written by Robert F. Moss, Southern Spirits explores “four hundred years of drinking in the American South, with recipes.” A book about the history of Southern drinking. I’m into history, always have been. I’m also from the South (Southwest Virginia), and I like to drink. It seemed like a good fit. The perfect book to read with a cold drink on a hot summer night. Is it the perfect book for such an occasion?…”

 

volume6

7.6.2016 – Wednesday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 6 Disc 2I review the second disc of the sixth volume in the collection. There’s 12 shorts, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

 

Syd-Barrett

7.7.2016 – Thursday – Tea Parties & Madcap Laughs – Remembering Syd Barrett – Pink Floyd’s founder and main driving force in their early years was Roger Keith “Syd” Barrett. A decade ago, July 7, 2006, Syd Barrett died of pancreatic cancer at 60 years of age. I wrote this poem and posted it a year ago, but posted it again along with a thoughtful creative piece as a tribute.

“On July 7, 2006, the world lost one of rock’s brightest minds and tragic souls. Roger Keith “Syd” Barrett, founder and guiding force behind Pink Floyd died at 60, born January 6, 1946. The victim of pancreatic cancer died at his home in Cambridge, England. The “crazy diamond” shone for a short time before his spiraling descent, but he shone like the sun. Barrett’s influence on the 1960s psychedelic rock era is immeasurable. He was the piper who led Pink Floyd to the gates of dawn and cracked it open…”

 

disneyrobinhood

7.1.2016 – Friday – Robin Hood (1973) Review – Everyone has a favorite Disney feature length animated film, or at least they should. Those of us of a certain age don’t consider anything relating to Pixar, or at least we shouldn’t. My favorite Disney animated film is a different take on the old “Robin Hood ballads.”

“Everyone has a favorite animated Disney film. Do you remember when Disney released their own animation without adding their name before Pixar? Oh, the days before computer animation. When I was a kid (I sound like an old man, but I’m only 33) Disney released a new animated blockbuster every summer. My favorite Disney animated film came out ten years before my birth. I can’t remember the first time I watched it, or how many times. I know I haven’t seen it in years, but I knew the lines by heart. It’s the animal kingdom’s version of the legendary outlaw of Sherwood Forest. Released in 1973, Robin Hood portrayed our hero as a fox, and it’s a perfect fit…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I’ll go back to one poem format and posting it on #PoetrySunday. I have so many to choose from. Unless there’s a special reason I’m never sure which I’ll pick. The Three Stooges sixth volume recap is on the way. I haven’t started a new book yet, so there won’t be a book review for a while. There will be at least one film review on the way. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

