Sister Morning Glory

smg2

Hey there Sister Morning Glory
Let me hear your saddest story
I ain’t lookin’ to debate
Just someone who can relate
To how I feel deep inside
Where I like to go and hide
Away from all the pretty things
That seem to float on angel’s wings
I ain’t got no wings at all
No safety net if I fall
Forgive me for not flyin’ high
And sitting back to wonder why
The reason I can’t break these chains
I try so hard, but rust remains.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice poem. It has quite a dark tone to it. For some reason, I feel like this would make a good, very slow, almost mournful song.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you for the kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

