Week in Review 7.24.2016-7.30.2016

weekinreview7.24.2016-7.30.2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A poem with a deeper, darker edge, a Dr. Hunter S. Thompson book review that matches the political season, a Three Stooges review, and a look back on my Robin Hood book and film reviews. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow the button so you don’t miss anything.

 

smg27.24.2016 – Sunday – Sister Morning Glory – This poem has a deeper, darker edge to it. I always find an image to go along with whatever I write, and I think I picked the perfect one. What do you think about the pairing? I wrote this a few weeks ago and tried to post it last week. Things didn’t work out, there were technical issues, and I tried again. This time everything worked.

“Hey there Sister Morning Glory
Let me hear your saddest story
I ain’t lookin’ to debate
Just someone who can relate…”

 

F&LCampaignTrail727.26.2016 – Tuesday – Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail ’72 (1973) Review – I couldn’t think of a better book to read with the presidential race looming on the horizon. The good doctor writes another gem, and for those of you turned off by his antics, he isn’t the main attraction. This book covers the 1972 Democrat primaries and George McGovern’s run to unset Richard Nixon.

“Every four years the American political landscape gets hit with a whirlwind force. The view becomes obstructed, polluted, and blurred. The presidency of the United States is up for grabs. Would be nominees campaign against their fellow party members to see whose hand reaches out for the brass ring. Primaries can involve many candidates, but always involve lengthy campaigns. Once the nominees accept, the battle begins. A mind-numbing sprint to Election Day ensues resembling a professional wrestling feud leading up to the big blow off cage match. The year 2016 finds us swept up in one of these foul tornadoes. It could be any year on the campaign trail in the modern era. While it may seem easiest to sit back and hope to land in Oz due to the confusion, we have a guiding light to help us through the chaos. In Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail ’72, Hunter S. Thompson shows how things haven’t changed since George McGovern’s ill-fated attempt to dethrone Richard Nixon. He makes the case the same was true a few elections before even…”

 

volume77.27.2016 – Wednesday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 7 Disc 2I review the second disc of the seventh volume in the collection. There’s 11 shorts, and I give my thoughts along with a bit of information. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

 

robinhoodaretrospective7.28.2016 – Thursday – Robin Hood – A Look Back – Over the last several months I’ve written many Robin Hood related pieces. The inspiration came from reading a book of original ballads, and led to a creative thought piece along with several film reviews. This piece has a brief introduction and contains links to all my Robin Hood pieces.

“If you’ve followed my blog over the past couple of months, you’ve seen a few Robin Hood related pieces. I’ve always been a huge fan of the man, the myth, whichever the legend may be. There’s so many books, films, and television covering Robin Hood. I couldn’t possibly review them all…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? There’s several poems I’m debating about posting, but it all depends on finding a good image to go along with it. Other than a recap of the Three Stooges seventh volume, I’m not sure about anything else. Film reviews are always fun, so I might have one of those. College football season is upon us and I’ll do a preview piece or two in the coming weeks. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

