Week in Review 7.31.2016-8.6.2016

weekinreview7.31.2016-8.6.2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A love poem about drinking all night with your chosen one, reaching out to the community for solutions to our calico cat’s misbehavior, a Three Stooges volume recap, and a Chris Farley documentary review. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow the button so you don’t miss anything.

 

vampires37.31.2016 – Sunday – Vampires – In a strange way it’s a love poem. It’s not a sweet little mushy poem of boy meets girl. It isn’t a tale of lost loves and broken hearts. What we have here is two chosen people drinking all night with a lit candle, and then the dawn arrives.

“We sat and drank by candlelight
Until the break of day
As soon as dawn broke through
We wished it’d go away…”

 

Fiona8.1.2016 – Monday – The Behavioral Problems of Our Calico Cat – Our calico cat, Fiona, has been having behavioral problems. I tried Google searches, and all I found were people saying all calico cats have “catitude” and are insane. In this piece I ask the blogging community for help. I document the issues, ask for solutions, and the solution is not getting rid of her. If anyone has any suggestions for helping Fiona, please leave a comment.

“We’re having problems with our little calico cat, and Google hasn’t offered any solutions. With nowhere else to turn, I ask my fellow bloggers of the WordPress community for help, advice, and hopefully a solution. As with 99.9% of calico cats, ours is a female. Her name’s Fiona, and she’s spayed. Within the last few months she’s started to have litter box related behavioral issues. We have three litter boxes spread out, and they get cleaned once a day. Regardless of the cleanliness, she poops outside the box. Sometimes it’s a case of not pulling herself all the way into the litter box. Other times, due to the distance away, she does it on purpose. The main problem is she pees on everything lately…”

 

volume78.3.2016 – Wednesday – The Three Stooges – The Ultimate Collection Volume 7 RecapI reviewed both discs of Volume 7 and in the recap I combine them. This is similar to my Twilight Zone season recaps. I share my thoughts and perhaps a little information, then list all the shorts on the volume along with release date, writer, and rating. A “Best of” list finishes the recap. I do this for fun, but I’d love for anyone to follow along with me.

“The seventh volume of The Ultimate Collection consists of 22 shorts spanning 1952-1954. Columbia Pictures released all 22 shorts as they would all 190 Three Stooges shorts over the years. Seven shorts got a theatrical release in 1952. The following year, 1953, saw an increase in production to nine. In 1954, the number of shorts fell to six. The entire volume and each individual year is above the quality of the previous volume and years within it. However, this volume brings about a whole new issue with the “Shemp era.” As I said before, he has nothing to do with the problem, yet the finger of blame seems to point in his direction…”

 

iamchrisfarley8.4.2016 – Thursday – I Am Chris Farley (2015) Review – I like documentaries if they’re done correctly. This one is and is a must see. For people in my age group, Chris Farley holds a special place in our hearts. He’s our John Belushi. I watched this not expecting much, and got more than I could ask for or expect, even tears.

“I like documentaries. Not all documentaries, but if I’m interested in the subject, I’ll watch. Well, I’ll try. Like anything else, sometimes they aren’t good. To be honest, they can be downright horrible. How? They push an agenda, are poorly written, or the production budget is on par with a value meal. Any or all these things can lead to ruin. It’s important to know how to detect the warning signs so you don’t waste your time. I Am Chris Farley isn’t just good. It’s great, exceeded my expectations, and comes highly recommended…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? The weekly poem is still up in the air. I have so many. A new writing tip is on writer’s block is coming. The first disc of the final Three Stooges volume is on the way. I’m almost finished with my current read, and the review will be Tuesday. I hope. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

