Week in Review 9.4.2016-9.10.2016

weekinreview9-4-2016-9-10-2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A poem I wrote years ago about lights in the night sky, a not so good pro wrestling book review, and a preview of the second week of the college football season. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

 

couldbealienuse9.4.2016 – Sunday – Could Be Alien – I wrote this poem a few years ago and came across it while looking for a poem to post. As always, the poems I pick at random do much better than poems I decide upon in advance. In fact, this poem cracked my top 5 of most liked posts. If you haven’t read it, give it a read. It’s a short, thought provoking poem, and I think I found the perfect accompanying image.

“Tomorrow never knows
What today tries to hide
Locked in a safe
Given to the sun…”

 

insideout(2003)review9.6.2016 – Tuesday – Inside Out (2003) Review – This is “Minnesota Wrecking Crew” and founding member of the “Four Horseman” Ole Anderson’s autobiography. It isn’t titled as such, but it is. I wanted to read it and wanted to like it. I tried, but couldn’t do either one. Let me explain where this falls short, and why this goes on my “so bad I couldn’t finish” shelf.

“Ole Anderson, the cantankerous, grumpy old man of professional wrestling. A main event singles and tag team star, he booked, promoted, and did about everything in the world of professional wrestling. Older fans remember him as a member of the famed “Minnesota Wrecking Crew” with his “brother,” Gene Anderson. Fans in my age bracket know him for another version of that team with another “family member,” Arn Anderson. He was also an original charter member of a little group known as “The Four Horsemen.” We can add author to this long list of accomplishments. Along with Scott Teal, Anderson wrote Inside Out: How Corporate America Destroyed Professional Wrestling…”

 

ncaafootballlogo9.8.2016 – Thursday – College Football 2016 Week 2 Preview – Last season I wrote a piece each week recapping the previous week of college football and previewing the following one. I enjoyed doing it and am doing it again this season. I’ve decided to no longer recap, but only preview as these can become quite lengthy. This is a preview of the second week and I highlight the games worth following/watching. I provide the day, along with teams, times, channels and where the game is. I also let you know the reason I thought this game qualifies.

“Kickoff Weekend is over. It’s time to move on to Week 2. Was this the best Kickoff Weekend ever? It’s always difficult to say if something is deserving of being the best ever. I was unsure of Thursday and Friday lacking a strong signature game. Of the five days of college football, Friday was the lone down day. The other four days featured plenty of excitement. I’m still not sure about the “best ever” title, but Kickoff Weekend 2016 made a strong case for itself. As we look ahead to the following week, well, there’s much to desire. I was able to find a decent selection of games to preview, but in other weeks many of these games wouldn’t qualify. None of the games feature ranked teams battling each other. The majority of games on the Week 2 schedule look like glorified scrimmages. However, there is one extra special game of note. A game that probably will shatter the college football attendance record and set a bar so high only a similar situation could top it. Allow me to preview the lackluster week upcoming…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A new poem as always will be on the way Sunday. This week I’ll preview the third week of the 2016 college football season. Let’s hope it’s better than this past week. I started another new book, and I’ll be reviewing it. Just a hint, it’s a new release from the last few months. If you watch Hannity, you’ve seen this author as a frequent guest. That’s three pieces for the week, and I might find time to squeeze in a film review or creative piece. I’m not sure yet. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

