Week in Review 10.2.2016-10.8.2016

weekinreview10-2-2016-10-8-2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A Halloween themed poem about a hearse driver, 2014’s The Penguin Book of Witches review, a preview of the sixth week of the college football season, and a Halloween themed documentary review. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

pacificghosthighway10.2.2016 – Sunday – Pacific Ghost Highway – I wrote this poem several years ago and over the cold winter months I finished it. I held off posting it until the appropriate time which is now. It’s a short poem about a hearse driver looking for a ghost. Here’s a little something to put you in the Halloween spirit.

“Big black hearse
Flyin’ down the highway
Turnin’ off the main road
Lookin’ for a by-way…”

thepenguinbookofwitches2014cover10.4.2016 – Tuesday – The Penguin Book of Witches (2014) Review – Among the various books I wanted to read for the month, this was the first one I found. The reviews on Goodreads.com were positive. I have no idea why as I started and knew I couldn’t proceed. I know it looks like it could be an interesting book, and I was hoping it would be. Instead, I couldn’t get very far before I knew the shelf this would land.

“We all know the witch, especially at this time of the year. An old hag living alone on the outskirts of the village in a decrepit dwelling. She dresses in black rags, a pointed black hat, and has a wart on her nose. At night she rides a broom across the sky traveling to Satanic orgies or to feast on newborn infants. Perhaps both. Her sole companion is a black cat who watches as she mixes various odds and ends in a giant cauldron. Did I miss anything? These stereotypes are what The Penguin Book of Witches author and editor Katherine Howe intended to vanquish. I’m fairly certain that was her main objective. To inform and educate. By scanning many reviews, it appears she succeeded with many readers. Unfortunately, for her, myself, or both, I am not among them…”

 

ncaafootballlogo10.5.2016 – Wednesday – College Football 2016 Week 6 Preview – Last season I wrote a piece each week recapping the previous week of college football and previewing the following one. I enjoyed doing it and am doing it again this season. This is a preview of the sixth week and I highlight the games worth following/watching. I provide the day, along with teams, times, channels and where the game is. I also let you know the reason I thought this game qualifies.

“The sixth week of the 2016 college football season is now upon us. After Saturday, we can take a serious look at both playoff possibilities and Heisman hopefuls. Each week, we’ll look closer at both than the previous week. This past weekend, while not having a plethora of noteworthy games, delivered more than expected. On Friday night, we learned Washington might be for real and a legitimate contender. In front of a home crowd they slowed Christian McCaffrey and stopped Stanford in a 44-6 victory. This was the most surprising outcome in a week that saw wild finishes and a few upsets. Indiana took Michigan State into overtime and walked away with a 24-21 upset home win…”

wwv10.6.2016 – Thursday – The Unexplained: Witches, Werewolves, and Vampires (1994) Review – One of my all-time holiday special favorites. I remember when this aired in 1994. Even as a young boy I enjoyed supernatural, Unsolved Mysteries fare. If they had the History Channel then, this is something that might have aired on it. It’s not Hollywood hype and stereotypes. Instead, this is a serious examination of myths and facts.

“Many holidays lend themselves to themed specials or documentaries. Halloween is no exception. It’s an exception to me as it’s the only holiday with “holiday specials” I can stand to watch. One of my favorites, and has been for many years, is The Unexplained: Witches, Werewolves, and Vampires. I remember watching it when it originally aired in 1994. I recorded it on a video cassette and repeated viewings destroyed the quality. Legendary actor Peter Graves tries to do his best Robert Stack in hosting this hour long documentary…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A new poem as always will be on the way Sunday. I started Mary Shelley’s classic Frankenstein, and hope to finish it in time for a review. I also plan to find a few film versions to go along with it. A preview of the seventh week of the 2016 college football season is on deck. It looks to be a big week for the blog. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

