Week in Review 10.9.2016-10.15.2016

weekinreview10-9-2016-10-15-2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. Another poem with a Halloween theme, a preview of the seventh week of the college football season, a review of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein novel, and a review of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein film. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

darknessreigns10.9.2016 – Sunday – Darkness Reigns – A short poem I wrote over the cold winter months. It’s got a dark, slightly evil theme. I couldn’t think of a better time than leading up to Halloween.

“Darkness reigns
The days and years
Giving hope
To constant fears…”

 

ncaafootballlogo10.12.2016 – Wednesday – College Football 2016 Week 7 Preview – Last season I wrote a piece each week recapping the previous week of college football and previewing the following one. I enjoyed doing it and am doing it again this season. This is a preview of the seventh week and I highlight the games worth following/watching. I provide the day, along with teams, times, channels and where the game is. I also let you know the reason I thought this game qualifies.

“As the seventh weekend of the 2016 college football season approaches, there are two key things to note. Now is the time to take a serious look toward the playoff contenders and Heisman hopefuls. The playoff committee won’t make their first formal selection for a few more weeks. However, halfway through the season is a good time to start considering such things. We’re seeing teams rise and fall as the competition increases, and with a contending teams fortunes so go those of a player hoping to hoist the Heisman Trophy at the end of the season…”

 

frankensteincover10.13.2016 – Thursday – Frankenstein (1818) Review – The horror classic. I had to read it once for a class. I didn’t, but wanted to read it now to see if it deserves the “classic” title. Also, I wanted to see the differences, if any, between the original tale told in the novel and many of the notable film versions. I learned a lot about that question and got my answer about it being a classic. Is it?

“Frankenstein. A young woman’s tale of science run amok. The academics may praise it. They may find various themes strewn throughout and draw various conclusions from a single one. Between the pages of Mary Shelley’s famous novel, they could interpret every line into an analysis work of their own, full of stuffy pretentiousness. It’s a good thing, for both you and I, I’m not one of those. I also didn’t care for the novel. I wouldn’t say it’s a deep hatred, but I didn’t enjoy Frankenstein…”

 

cover10.14.2016 – Friday – Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein (1994) Review – I remember when this film debuted in theatres. I wanted to see it, but I was 10 or 11. It became a film I forgot about, until I came across it one day, and having seen a few film versions of Mary Shelley’s novel, I thought I’d watch it. The main reason was to watch Robert De Niro as “The Creature.” It’s much different from the other film versions, particularly the “King” Karloff classic.

““King” Karloff. Christopher Lee. Lon Chaney, Jr. These three names one expects to see playing “The Creature” in a Frankenstein film. Joining these masters of the horror genre in the hallowed role is Robert De Niro. Yes, you read that correct. In the 1994 film Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, the legendary actor donned the stitches. How was De Niro’s performance? How was the film overall? I’m glad you asked…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A new poem as always will be on the way Sunday. It will be like the last few and fit the Halloween season. I’m starting the Bram Stoker “classic” Dracula and hope to have a review. There’s a ton of vampire films I can watch and review. Vampires are my Halloween favorite. A preview of the eighth week of the 2016 college football season is on deck. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

One Comment Add yours

  1. Asha Seth says:

    I loved reading Frankenstein. Haven’t watched the movie though. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

