Week in Review 10.23.2016-10.29.2016

weekinreview10-23-2016-10-29-2016

Here’s what I was up to this week. A poem with a macabre them and image for Halloween, a Christopher Lee Dracula film review, a biography of The Devil review, a preview of the ninth week of the college football season, and a vampire film review with Bela Lugosi. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

theexectioner10.23.2016 – Sunday – The Hangman – I wrote this poem a few years ago. Like the last few, it’s fitting for the Halloween season. The image isn’t a perfect match with the poem. I always try to make them fit together. This time it didn’t work out, but I did the best I could. I like the image, and might even write a new poem based around it and re-use it at a later date. This is a short poem, and I hope you enjoy it.

“A solitary figure dressed in black
Hides his face with the hood of death
Builds the gallows, readies the noose
His livelihood is others losing theirs…”

dracula_197010.24.2016 – Monday – Count Dracula (1970) Review – Sir Christopher Lee plays Count Dracula, and he’s played the role on film more than any other actor. This isn’t a part of the Hammer series, but it reminds of a Hammer film. If you’ve read the novel, Lee bears a striking resemblance to how Stoker describes the Count, more so than any other film. However, I wouldn’t recommend this, and I explain my reasons.

“As I searched for Dracula films after reading the novel, I stumbled upon a rare find. I wasn’t aware of this film, and I’m not sure how many of you are, let alone watched it. There’s spaghetti westerns, well this qualifies as spaghetti horror. Made in Italy, 1970’s Count Dracula features horror hero and macabre mainstay Christopher Lee in the title role. A role he played in more films than any other actor, yet Bela Lugosi is who most people recall…”

thedevilanewbiography2014review10.25.2016 – Tuesday – The Devil: A New Biography (2014) Review – The title is misleading. I thought I’d be getting something along the lines of the Satan A&E Biography episode. Interesting, informative, and entertaining. The book isn’t any of the three. Another book added to the “so bad I couldn’t finish” shelf, and as always, I explain my reasons.

“Demons, devils, and other hellish creatures are central to the Halloween season. You could read The Devil: A New Biography any time, but when I saw it on the shelf at my local library, I thought now was as good a time as any. That said, there’s never a good time to read this book. It has nothing to do with the subject from a religious point of view, and everything to do with the book itself. I wasn’t certain what I would get, but I had a few expectations. Unfortunately, I’m adding this book to the “so bad I couldn’t finish” shelf. I have my reasons, and here they are…”

ncaafootballlogo10.26.2016 – Wednesday – College Football 2016 Week 9 Preview – Last season I wrote a piece each week recapping the previous week of college football and previewing the following one. I enjoyed doing it and am doing it again this season. This is a preview of the ninth week and I highlight the games worth following/watching. I provide the day, along with teams, times, channels and where the game is. I also let you know the reason I thought this game qualifies.

“Each week brings us closer to the end of the 2016 college football season. This means the games mean more with every passing week. A loss can be devastating as the time to move back up shortens. The playoff picture takes a more solid shape though there’s always room for teams to fall and rise. The Heisman race is coming into focus. A player can fall with a bad performance allowing others to rise in the eyes of voters. Ohio State and their quarterback J.T. Barrett encountered both these situations with a late 24-21 upset loss in Happy Valley to Penn State. On Thursday, Boise State came close to having a blemish on their record, but pulled out a 28-27 victory over BYU. SMU ousted Houston from the rankings with a 38-16 upset win…”

 

markofthevampirecover10.28.2016 – Friday – Mark of the Vampire (1935) Review – Bela Lugosi plays a vampire, in a matter of speaking. I’d never heard of this film until another blogger suggested it. It’s a remake of a silent film, and a lot of fun. A short black and white thriller, with a great ending. This one I do recommend.

“A black and white 1930’s vampire film, but not Dracula. Tod Browning’s the director, but not Dracula. Bela Lugosi’s a vampire, but he’s not Dracula. There’s fake bats, fake spiders, dusty old castles, and foggy graveyards. Again, this isn’t the famous Dracula from 1931. Instead, it’s a lesser known film called Mark of the Vampire from 1935. A big shout out to Gary Loggins over at crackedrearviewer for suggestion this film and giving me the story behind it…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A new poem as always will be on the way Sunday. It will be like the last few and fit the Halloween season. Perhaps I’ll have a creative piece for Halloween. A preview of the tenth week of the 2016 college football season is on deck. I’ve got a book review of an Ambrose Bierce collection planned. There could be a film review as well. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

Leave a Reply

