Do You Instagram & Should I?

instagram-logo

Do You Instagram? Should I? I don’t know if I should bother with another social media site or not. Whenever I have a question like this, I’ve found asking my fellow bloggers yields good results. There’s plenty of feedback left in the comments section creating a productive discussion. I know I can’t be the only one asking these questions, so while I ask for myself, I ask for all of us.

From what I understand, Instagram is yet another social media site. It’s similar to Twitter in using hashtags and networking with strangers. Sharing photos and videos is the main purpose. You can share from Instagram to Facebook and Twitter, but with Twitter a link appears instead of the photo unless you use yet another service to make the photo appear. If I want to share a photo, I can easily go into my phone’s camera gallery or Google Photos to share, and they appear without extra links to click or extra work to make them Twitter friendly.

Google Photos backs up my camera gallery. I can post and share my photos at any time. I don’t really want the hassle of another social media site, attracting followers, and all that goes along with using social media. Perhaps I don’t get the whole Instagram idea. Am I missing something in my reasoning? My fellow bloggers, do you Instagram? Should I? Am I missing out by not doing so?

 Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I think instagram is nice, but honestly I didn’t want to do it for my blog. Fb/Twitter is enough for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      That’s what I was thinking.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie says:

    I use FB/Twitter, and that’s all. I just don’t have time to manage and set up another account, because I wouldn’t have time for anything else! That said, I know some people who really like, so I guess it’s up to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gary loggins says:

    If I used all the “social media” sites that have been recommended by blogging “experts”, I’d be spending even more time in virtual reality and not enough in the real world! I’ll stick with Facebook, Google+, and Twitter for now… more time to enjoy real life is important. It’s all about finding balance!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      I’ve never used Google+ as I got a bit made when YouTube kept trying to force it on me to comment on videos, so I stayed away. You think it’s worth me looking into? Don’t know much about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. gary loggins says:

        Meh… I don’t think it delivers much traffic to my blog. I don’t use it that often.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Drew Martin says:

        I’m thinking of doing away with the Facebook page for the blog. It’s useless.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

