Week in Review 1.1.2017-1.7.2017

weekinreview1-1-2017-1-7-2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. I give my thoughts on and goals for the GoodReads 2017 Reading Challenge. There’s a recap of the 28 post-Christmas bowl games. I reviewed the Robert Mitchum 1957 war film The Enemy Below. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

gr20171.3.2017 – Tuesday – The GoodReads 2017 Reading Challenge – A new year brings a new Reading Challenge from the fine folks at GoodReads. I don’t list any books I’m planning to read. Instead, I give my thoughts on the challenge, as well as the total number of books I’m aiming for in 2017.

“It’s the start of a new year which means the start of a new goodreads.com Reading Challenge. The last few years I set 15 books as my goal to read over the course of the year and struggled to do so. In 2016, I once again set 15 books as my goal, and ended with 33. That’s the most books I’ve ever read in a single year. This year I hope to have a full-time job, but still find time to read as many books as possible. I know some people pick an outrageous and impossible number for their goal. My goal is realistic, and for 2017 I’m upping my reading game…”

ncaafootballlogo1.4.2017 – Wednesday – College Football 2016 Post-Christmas Bowl Recap – The final 28 bowl games of the college football bowl season, or Capital One Bowl Mania take place after Christmas. All the games are here with winners, scores, and how I did in picking the winners. The first 14 games, my picks were pretty good. The final 28, I lost a lot and broke even overall.

“The second half of the college football bowl season, or Capital One Bowl Mania is in the books. The post-Christmas bowl schedule of 28 games included the prestigious “New Year’s Six,” two of which were the coveted playoff games. This year, the Peach Bowl and the Fiesta Bowl played host to the four teams with National Championship aspirations. Alabama dominated Washington in the Peach Bowl while Clemson pitched a shut-out against Ohio State. On January 9, 2017, Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium plays host to the final game of the college football season, the College Football National Championship Game…”

cover1.6.2017 – Friday – The Enemy Below (1957) Review – I like old films, and old war films are no exception. The fact that this stars one Robert Mitchum made it an easy choice to watch when I came across it by accident. I wasn’t disappointed. It’s not the perfect film, but good enough for me to put it on my wish list in hopes of adding it to my film collection in the future.

“There’s something about a war film from the golden age of Hollywood. They still have blood, bullets, and bombs. More than that, they have a story. The story is the main course, the driving force. The “3 B’s” listed above are there because they have to be. It’s a war film after all. They aren’t the focus out front on display. Hollywood had to do things in a different way before CGI, or the modernization of special effects. A good film in those days had a good story, and good actors to tell it. The Enemy Below from 1957 is one such film…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? After a two-week hiatus for the holidays, I’ll be back with a poem on #PoetrySunday. I’ll have a review of my first reading endeavor of 2017, and a documentary film review to tie-in with it. The Sunday poem may follow a similar theme. I’ll have a recap of 2016 college football national championship and a look ahead to 2017. I may have a bonus piece, but I’m not sure yet. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

