Week in Review 1.15.2017-1.21.2017

weekinreview1-15-2017-1-21-2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. Scene from a Dublin Winter Night is an old poem I rediscovered, cleaned up, and thought it fit the time of year. I have a theory about photography blog pieces and used a photograph of my own to test it. My cat is the subject, and I think it’s a great photograph of her in Scampers’ Eyes – A Glimpse of Her Soul. I asked the community for help in choosing my next book with a single question about three popular titles. I reviewed Irish Saints, a book comprised of 12 mini-biographies. I planned to have a Mad Max trilogy review on Friday. I schedule it, and for the second time this week, WordPress failed to publish a post under any tags in the reader. When I contacted their Twitter, they were less than helpful, so it looks like I’ll be doing another piece on the shitty behavior of WordPress. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

scenefromadublinwinternight1.15.2017 – Sunday – Scene from a Dublin Winter Night – I wrote this poem years ago and found it during the holidays as I went through some old notebooks between bowl games. Seeing as it’s winter, what better time to post the poem. The accompanying image isn’t perfect, but it was the best I could find. They can’t all have perfect matches as much I would like for that to happen. No, I’ve never been to Dublin, but I’d love to go. Like Willy Wonka, this poem is pure imagination.

“Irish songs of sea and whiskey
Flowing out of the pubs
A winter night in Dublin
Reveals frosty footprints…”

scamperscloseup1.16.2017 – Monday – Scampers’ Eyes – A Glimpse of Her Soul – I love my cat. She’s all I have left. The thing is though, I don’t think she likes having her photo taken. I try, and she always moves. She didn’t this time, and I love the close-up of her eyes.

toreadornottoread11.17.2017 – Tuesday – To Read or Not to Read? #1 – In hopes of getting some help on what to read, I took three popular titles and gave my reasons for and against reading. Due to WordPress once again having issues and this not appearing in the Reader at time of publish I missed many viewers. The ones who read and liked failed to comment. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, A Monster Calls, and The Night Circus were the choices. I picked Wallflower, and I’ve already finished it.

“As some of you may know, I like to read and post a lot of book reviews and book related pieces. I also try to check the book review tag in the WordPress Reader to see what the rest of you are reading and your thoughts on those books. While I’m far from having a shortage of things to read, I’m always looking for something new to add to my growing “to read” list. When I keep seeing the same titles appear in reviews, it peeks my interest. Most of the reviews give glowing endorsements, but I like to see one’s that cast a black cloud as well…”

irishsaints1964cover1.19.2017 – Thursday – Irish Saints (1964) Review – A book in line with Twitter’s #FolkloreThursday. This is a collection of 12 mini-biographies, introductions if you will. It’s not overly religious, but religious in a way. It kind of has to be, but in a secular way.

“While I am not Catholic, Christian, or religious in any way, I am of Irish heritage. That’s the reason I bought Irish Saints at a used book stall in a flea market so many years ago. I found it in a box a few days ago and decided to read it for the first time. Ireland has many, many saints, both major and minor as the author Robert T. Reilly makes a point to write. Irish Saints is an introduction to 12 individual saints through brief biographies. Some of them may be familiar, and some of them may not be. Nothing goes in depth as there’s only 169 pages. Below are the 12 saints included, along with my thoughts after reading each individual mini-biography. I’ll review Irish Saints as I would a short story collection…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I’ve got a poem coming on Sunday. I also don’t know what poem I’ll use as they’ve started to pile up in the folder. I’ll have a piece about the continuing unresolved issues of WordPress. A book review is on the way, along with a loose film adaptation review starring the legendary Vincent Price. No, it’s not an Edgar Allan Poe title. I’ll have my Mad Max trilogy review ready to see if it will work this time. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

