Week in Review 1.29.2017-2.4.2017

weekinreview1-29-2017-2-4-2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. The Highway is a poem with a simple theme, but a deeper meaning. I reviewed the best book I’ve read since October, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I took a comprehensive look back at my January reading endeavors, including authors, ratings, and links to the individual reviews. As I always try to do, I watched The Perks of Being a Wallflower film adaptation to compare and contrast with the novel. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

thehighway1.29.2017 – Sunday – The Highway – I wrote this some time ago and rediscovered it while cleaning out a folder on my hard drive. A simple theme, but a deeper meaning. It’s philosophical in a way. I was able to find several good images to pair with the poem and settled on the one I eventually used as it fit the best. If you haven’t read it yet, take a minute to check it out.

“The highway
Long, dark, deserted
Only a few passing headlights
Cut the darkness
The moon and the stars
Overlooking the mud and gravel…”

wallflowerbookcover1.31.2017 – Tuesday – The Perks of Being a Wallflower (1999) Review – I know we’re only a month into 2017, but this is the best book I’ve read so far. It’s the first top rated novel of the year. I read it faster than any book I’ve ever read. I’m captivated by the story, but even more so by the writing style. The style made it easier to read than the traditional novel. If you haven’t read it yet, take a minute to check it out, and then read the novel.

“January 31, 2017

Dear friend,

            Wow. I just finished reading a great book I feel I need to review in a different way. It only took me two days to read, a record because I’ve never read a book that fast in my entire life. I guess I should tell you the name of the book. It’s called The Perks of Being a Wallflower, published in 1999. Oh, and Stephen Chbosky is the author…”

jan2017readingendeavours2.1.2017 – Wednesday – January 2017 Reading Endeavors – I’ve seen many blog pieces like this, and I’ve done an end of the year wrap up. As I wanted to read more books this year, and got four in the month of January, I thought I’d do a wrap up for the month. I’ll be doing these throughout the year. The cover art, full title, year, author, and yes, even my rating. There’s also a few brief thoughts, the introduction to the individual reviews, and links to go read the individual reviews.

“At the beginning of 2017, I joined the goodreads.com Reading Challenge for another year. I pledged to read 25 with the hope of going over that total. The first month of 2017 is behind us, so it’s time to take a look back at my January 2017 reading endeavors. I’ve included the author, original publication year, and yes, even my rating. I normally don’t talk about ratings or give one in a review, but this is a special sort of a deal. You can find my review for each book by clicking on either the individual cover art or the title. I’ve included the opening paragraph of each review along with a brief introduction. If you missed one of these reviews, go ahead and give them a read. Comments and feedback are always welcome on anything I write. I think I’ll start doing a monthly wrap-up of my reading endeavors throughout the year. Of the 25 I’m shooting for, I knocked out the first 4 in January. Let’s take a look at them…”

wallflowerfilmcover2.3.2017 – Friday – The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) Review – Wow. A horrible film adaptation of a wonderful novel. I wanted to watch it. I wanted to like it. However, I promised a review. I didn’t promise anything about finishing, or liking. You can’t win all the time. Normally I don’t bother to write about movies that are so bad I can’t finish them. When I review a book, it’s sort of a different beast. Plus, it gives me something to write.

“What is it they always say? Oh yeah, I know. The book’s way better than the film. Isn’t that the way these things usually go? Are the book and film ever on par in the top 5-star slot? The lone one that comes to my mind at present is Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Is the book ever “meh” and the film far superior? The lone one that comes to my mind at present is To Kill a Mockingbird. Gregory Peck and Robert Duvall deliver outstanding performances. Then there’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower. The 1999 novel was a top 5-star rated surprise gem. The 2012 film adaptation not so much. Not only is it worse than “meh,” it’s so bad I couldn’t finish it…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I’ve got many poems stacked up for #PoetrySunday. I’m debating on several poems, but I’m thinking of a cat poem. On Monday, I’ll have a thought piece on being sick of politics on social media. If you feel the same, you don’t want to miss it. I’ll have reviews for the first two books of February, and there could be three book reviews and a review of the film version. That’s only if I finish the book in time. Of course, there’s also a chance for a surprise along the way. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

