Blitzed (2015) Review

blitzed

I’m a big fan of history. I always have been. For the majority of my life, if I read, I read non-fiction. The thing about non-fiction books is they’re kind of hard to recommend. A person has to have an interest in the actual subject to want to read and learn more for themselves. That doesn’t mean you can’t recommend a non-fiction book. You can’t expect people to rush off to read it like they might after seeing a glowing fiction recommendation. I’m not detoured from recommending non-fiction. In fact, I’m doing so now. If you have an interest in World War II, the rise and fall of the Third Reich, Adolph Hitler, or the history of synthetic drugs, Norman Ohler’s Blitzed: Drugs in the Third Reich is a must read.

Blitzed came out in Germany in 2015. Ohler’s a German, and a good writer as far as this book goes. An English release is on its way within a few months. I was lucky enough to receive an advance copy to read and review, and I wasn’t disappointed. Blitzed is well-written, and well-researched. Engaging, informative, and easy to read. I can’t stress the word informative enough. There’s a plethora of information between these pages on so many interconnected topics. Nothing gets lost in the shuffle, and all points lead back to the main objective.

There’s a few instances where Ohler inserts himself briefly in describing a location or an interview. It wasn’t overdone, but all the same, I’d rather have had those instances omitted. I don’t think they added anything to the overall presentation. That’s it, my lone issue, and it’s more of a nitpick than anything.

In 2005, the History Channel produced an hour long documentary titled High Hitler. It’s a good documentary and Blitzed covers the same ground and expands on the subject. The documentary is a nice piece to accompany the book. I’d actually recommend watching, then reading. You’ll get a few introductions, faces to go with names, and a backstory. More than anything, it will help with proper pronunciation of many of the names and terms.

I enjoyed Blitzed. I think I’ll have to add it to my personal bookshelf in the future. Aside from the written information, there’s an assortment of visual artifacts reproduced. Photographs, letters, and documents appear throughout the pages. If you’re into studying World War II, you’ll want to find a copy of Blitzed. It covers a lot of information overlooked, or flat out ignored.

*I received this as an uncorrected ebook galley from netgalley.com in exchange for this honest review.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

