Week in Review 2.19.2017-2.25.2017

wir

Here’s what I was up to this week. My #PoetrySunday piece, Out at 67 (For the Good Doctor), is in honor of Hunter S. Thompson as he died on February 20. Full Moon Afternoon in February 2017 is a photograph I took of a full moon appearing before the sun had set. The good doctor’s first book, Hell’s Angels gets reviewed. A film mentioned several times in Thompson’s book is 1953’s The Wild One, so I watched and reviewed it. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

outat672.19.2017 – Sunday – Out at 67 (For the Good Doctor) – My literary hero is the good doctor Hunter S. Thompson. He committed suicide in 2005 at the age of 67. I thought I might have the chance to meet him. I never got my chance, but I’m still a big fan. Some people tend to overlook his work and only see the character he created. His work is genius, and this is a tribute poem I wrote in his memory a few years ago.

“Out at 67
Now riding on a star
Hitching across the cosmos
To an outlaw biker bar…”

fullmoonafternooninfebruary20172.20.2017 – Monday – Full Moon Afternoon in February 2017 – I wasn’t sure what to write and try to share in the Community Pool. I had several things in mind, but I couldn’t collect my thoughts together and decide on one. Instead, I decided to post a photograph as I wanted to do more strictly photography pieces this year. One afternoon I noticed a full moon out my window, but the sun hadn’t vacated the celestial throne.

hellsangelscover2.22.2017 – Wednesday – Hell’s Angels (1966) Review – This is the good doctor’s first book, and while not a full blown Gonzo effort, he does show some flashes. Thompson isn’t the story. He’s there, but the outlaw bikers get the main event spotlight. Newer fans might not understand. If you’ve got a good base in the Thompson library, it’s an important work.

“A modern day reincarnation of the James Gang sitting low in the saddle of a steel horse. Gone are the six-shooter Colt .45’s, replaced by chains, tire irons, and any other object that’s main purpose and intent isn’t a weapon, but can be. Gone too are “cowboy hats,” replaced by greasy, unwashed denim and a patch to designate membership and allegiance. Leather jackets are a Hollywood myth brought about by Marlon Brando in The Wild One. If the style is on the scene now, it wasn’t in the mid-60s when Gonzo journalist Dr. Hunter S. Thompson was in the inner circle and covering their antics. These new outlaws, the Hell’s Angels, were in their infancy at the time. In 1966’s Hell’s Angels: A Strange and Terrible Saga, Thompson covers the group as only he can with a biting wit, brutal honesty, and (perhaps unintended) humor…”

thewildoneposter2.23.2017 – Thursday – The Wild One (1953) Review – Thompson references this film several times, so it was only natural to pair the film with his book. There’s a young Marlon Brando and a young Lee Marvin gracing the screen. It’s got issues, but rewarding in its own way. I explain all this and more in the review and explain why it’s worth watching once.

“          “What are ya rebelin’ against Johnny?”

            “What have ya got?”

That’s it. In this brief question as an answer to a question exchange, the film and our hero, perhaps anti-hero get summed up quite nicely. Forget about James Dean’s Jim Stark. Marlon Brando’s Johnny Strabler is the real rebel without a cause. He’s the leader of the pack of an outlaw motorcycle gang called the Black Rebels, or B.R.M.C. They can get wild. Brando’s Strabler is The Wild One and in his fifth film from 1953, shows the flashes of brilliance which would make him “the greatest movie actor of all time…””

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I’m undecided on the #PoetrySunday piece. Sometimes these do very well, and sometimes they don’t. I don’t know if it’s timing, image or what exactly behind the mixed reactions. I’ll go back over my first year involved in Twitter’s #writingchallenge, and why writer’s should join. As another month ends, I’ll take a comprehensive look back at my February 2017 reading endeavors. If you’re a music fan, hard rock fan, Guns N’ Roses fan I’ll be reviewing a 1988 concert available on YouTube. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

