Week in Review 3.5.2017-3.11.2017

wir3.5.2017-3.11.2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. You’ll See Me is a poem about depression with a nod to Pink Floyd’s The Wall. In the Grave is the first short story, flash fiction piece I’ve written in a year. I reviewed the new book Ghosts of Country Music. I watched the Ancient Alien spinoff series In Search of Aliens and wrote an overview before I get to the discs and individual episodes. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

youllseeme3.5.2017 – Sunday – You’ll See Me – A poem for the beautifully depressed. I wrote this a few years ago. It’s highly influenced by Pink Floyd’s The Wall, but is a true account of personal feelings. Both the film and album appear a lot in my more personal depression poems, and this an example. If you feel the same, or have felt the same, I hope it helps you in some small way, if nothing else to let you know you aren’t alone.

“Take a look behind the wall
You’ll see me
Enclosed within my misery
You’ll see me…”

inthegrave3.6.2017 – Monday – In the Grave – I wrote this a few days before posting it. I was unsure of doing so, but a few people on Twitter convinced me to put it up, and I even found an image to use as the basis for cover art. This is a short story, flash fiction if you will, and has a Twilight Zone style twist at the end.

“          Why is it so dark?

            Why am I so cold?

            I’m not freezing, but I feel a chill. It’s odd to describe. I know it’s cold where I am, at least I think I do. The temperature isn’t the problem as much as you might think. I don’t feel the air, but I feel the cold inside me. A dull ache lingering throughout my limbs, coursing through my veins. I don’t need a blanket. It wouldn’t do any good. Besides, it seems I’ve already got one wrapped around me. Not so much a blanket as a sheet…”

ghostsofcountrycover3.7.2017 – Tuesday – Ghosts of Country Music (2017) Review – Country music and ghost stories should go well together. They might, but not in these pages. I had high hopes for this book, but it goes on the “so bad I couldn’t finish” shelf. The cover art brought me in, but the words couldn’t keep me. It’s a good idea, but not the best writing or execution.

“Country music and ghost stories are two things that seem they’d go together like biscuits and gravy. I’m also talking about REAL country music, not the generic pop country passing on country radio stations today. I’m talking about the likes of Johnny Cash, and the greatest of all-time, Hank Williams, Sr. They sang haunted songs about tortured souls made authentic by their own tortured souls. Perhaps these old songs, the folks who sang them, and the genre match well with haunting tales of spooks and spirits. If they do, it’s not in the pages of Matthew L. Swayne’s 2017 book, Ghosts of Country Music: Tales of Haunted Honky Tonks & Legendary Spectres. I had hopes for this book, but it finds a place on my “so bad I couldn’t finish” shelf…”

insearchofalienscover3.9.2017 – Thursday – In Search of Aliens (2014) – Giorgio Tsoukalos, the “hair guy” from Ancient Aliens, had a spin-off series for a season back in 2014. Whenever I review a series, I try to write an introduction piece before going straight to the reviews. I wasn’t expecting a huge turnout for this piece and received no turnout. I can’t remember a piece doing so bad in recent memory. However, I’ll continue with this short project and review a disc per week for the next few weeks. Hopefully this project picks up a little steam.

“If you’ve followed my blog for a while, you’ve seen me review multi-disc collections (The Twilight Zone and The Three Stooges). You might also know I’m a big fan of the History Channel’s ground-breaking Ancient Aliens series. I’ve reviewed a few alternative history/ancient alien books in the past, and I wish I could review the Ancient Aliens series. I can’t because they’re still pumping out episodes and seasons, but once they call it quits and release a big box set, I’m getting it to review. Since I can’t review Ancient Aliens in full, I can review the next best thing, In Search of Aliens, hosted by the one and only Giorgio Tsoukalos. You know him. He’s one of, if not the main figure on Ancient Aliens. The guy with the hair…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I’ve got so many poems stashed away in a folder I never know what to use. However, this week I do. My #PoetrySunday piece will be an inspiring poem for my fellow creative souls on the search for a muse. I’ll have a photograph to share from a recent hike. I finished another book, and I’ll have a review of a non-fiction book about the famous Newgate Prison. The first disc of episodes to review for In Search of Aliens will be on the way. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

