Week in Review 3.19.2017-3.25.2017

WeekInReview3.19.2017-3.25.2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. For All That Is (And All That May) is an old poem I rediscovered a few months ago. The Early Pastel Promises of Spring 2017 is a short creative writing piece paired with a photograph from my personal collection. I reviewed a cat book, 2016’s The Lion in the Living Room. The second disc of In Search of Aliens gets reviewed. I finished another book in time to include during the week, Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

vikingships3.19.2017 – Sunday – For All That Is (And All That May) – Over Christmas, I found a bunch of old notebooks and went through them. Here’s one of the better poems I found. It was incomplete, but I gave it an end. There’s nothing serious here, regardless of the title. A whimsical sing-song poem.

“Time is still
But not for all
Some may stand
While some may fall…”

firstglimpseofspring3.20.2017 – Monday – The Early Pastel Promises of Spring 2017 – A combination photography and creative writing piece. The early days of March were warm and gave me several opportunities to hike. Then winter returned with cold temperatures and wind. I wrote the short creative piece wondering why the coming season disappeared. The photograph is from a hike on the Virginia Creeper Trail.

“Once we sat in the first rays of an enchanting dawn. A soft breeze cut through the warm welcome of the sun, shaking off the last traces of early morning chill. Spring is in the air. Spring is on the rise. At least it was mere days ago, bringing with it pastel promises of sweet new life. To leave the icy chill of winter in the past and not feel its presence again until many months far into the future. Yes, these were our thoughts, our plans, and like the best laid of scholar and scribe, have gone awry through no fault of their own…”

thelioninthelivingroomcover3.21.2017 – Tuesday – The Lion in the Living Room (2016) Review – As a cat person, I thought what better book to read than a book about the history of cat domestication. After all, that’s the description. It’s false advertising, as there’s many problems with the book and it fails to deliver. I was able to finish, but not pleased with what I read. As always, I don’t spoil anything, but I list out my issues and explain myself.

“They’re everywhere we look. Roaming from back yards to back alleys, lush forests and jungles to sprawling urban jungles, living rooms, and the internet. Cats are abundant these days. Unfortunately, the big cat population is in rapid decline across the globe. The cats I write off are the smaller cousins to the larger lions and tigers. Yes, the house cat, though you can also find them outside on the prowl. I’m a cat person, so why not read a book about cats? A new one on the shelf at my local library is Abigail Tucker’s 2016 release. The Lion in the Living Room: How House Cats Tamed Us and Took Over the World held the promise of a history book. The promise held true, but not in the way I expected. It’s a New York Times bestseller, but I wouldn’t recommend the buy. I don’t even recommend giving it a read…”

insearchofalienscover3.23.2017 – Thursday – In Search of Aliens (2014) Disc 2 Review – Giorgio Tsoukalos goes in search of three ancient mysteries on the second disc. Last week’s response was far below what I expected, but this little project gave me something to write about and a reason to rewatch the series. There’s one more disc to go. Sometimes I have to write things for myself, and this is one of those times. Please feel free to come along if you’re a fan of Ancient Aliens.

#5 – Searching for Bigfoot

Original Air Date: August 22, 2014

Ancient Aliens Cast Member: Jonathan Young

Synopsis: Cultures the world over share a common legend of large, hairy bipedal beasts, giants, and wild, hairy men. This legend persists today in accounts of Sasquatch, better known as Bigfoot. Across continents, countries, and cultures, sightings of an unknown creature share a similar description. Descriptions of the creature agree on a large (tall and wide), muscular, covered in hair, and resembles a half-human/half-ape hybrid. What is this creature? Is it an unknown species of mountain gorilla? A legend? A hoax? Giorgio Tsoukalos goes in search of the answers and tries to explain a strange correlation between Bigfoot and UFO sightings…”

smartenoughcover3.24.2017 – Friday – Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? (2016) Review – Another non-fiction animal book this week. It’s better than the first book, but that’s not saying much. The problem here is an overload of scientific information and lack of entertainment. It’s a psychology book from an animal perspective.

“Sometimes I come across a book on GoodReads and think, yeah, I’d like to read that. I’ll click on it, give a quick look at the overall rating, then add it to the “want to read” list. There’s no real rhyme or reason at times. The cover art. The title. Could be a combination of the two big brother. One of these combination books lacking a specific reason is Frans De Wall’s 2016 release, Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? I had no idea what I’d be getting, but I finished it. It took a while, and it’s not a bad book, but it’s not for everyone…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I have a brand new poem to debut for #PoetrySunday, and I think I found a good image to accompany it. One Thousand and One Nights is up for review. I’ll try to find a film adaptation to pair with it. The third disc of three episodes of In Search of Aliens will be on the way. The month comes to a close, and I’ll look back on March’s reading endeavors. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

