Week in Review 3.26.2017-4.1.2017

WeekInReview3.26.2017-4.1.2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. Click the image or the title to read the piece. Jasmine Perfume is a brand new poem inspired by the coming spring season and the latest book up for review. The retelling of the Arabian classic story collection One Thousand and One Nights is the book in question. I reached the end of my latest series review with the third disc of In Search of Aliens. The month comes to an end, time to look back on March’s reading endeavors. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

jasmineperfume3.26.2017 – Sunday – Jasmine Perfume – A brand new poem I wrote a few days before posting. Inspired by both the coming season, and the tales of Shahrazad. It’s an ode and longing for true spring, and love in the same rhyme. Finding an image to pair with it wasn’t easy. If you haven’t read it yet, check it out. I’m proud of this one.

“Jasmine perfume on the breeze
Blowing through the autumn leaves
Springtime’s soon to dawn it’s true
But not quite yet, so what to do?…”

onethousand&onenightscover3.28.2017 – Tuesday – One Thousand and One Nights (2013) Review – The stories Shahrazad tells in the Arabian Nights has many versions and retellings. Not knowing which is close to the original or where to begin, I picked this modern retelling. My library had it on a shelf, and I considered it a win. I’m not sure how close any of the versions are to each other. It’s a short story collection in a way, and some stories are better than others.

“A collection of stories told and retold throughout the years. Sometimes stories get added, and other times taken away for reasons known only to the storyteller. Even the title, the banner these stories gather beneath changes. One thing that doesn’t change is the setting, a vast mystical, magical, and romantic land called Arabia. With so many versions under so many titles, it’s hard to say which is correct and true to the original. In 2013’s One Thousand and One Nights, Lebanese author Hanan al-Shaykh offers her own interpretation with this sweeping retelling…”

insearchofalienscover3.30.2017 – Thursday – In Search of Aliens (2014) Disc 3 Review – Giorgio Tsoukalos goes in search of three ancient mysteries on the third disc. Last week’s response was far below what I expected, but this little project gave me something to write about and a reason to rewatch the series. Sometimes I have to write things for myself, and this is one of those times. Please feel free to come along if you’re a fan of Ancient Aliens.

#8 – The Founding of America

Original Air Date: September 19, 2014

Ancient Aliens Cast Member: N/A

Synopsis: Among other nations of the world, the United States of America is an anomaly due to its founding principles. Did aliens play a role in the founding? Giorgio Tsoukalos explores several factors behind the founding, and a few of the more well-known founding father’s thoughts and possible experiences with life in the universe…”

marreadingendeavors3.31.2017 – Friday – March 2017 Reading Endeavors – As the month draws to a close, it’s that time once again to look back over the books I read in March. I’ll have to say, March, you disappointed me. None of these books ranked above average. By far the worst month of the three is terms of entertainment, enjoyment, and literary satisfaction.

“Another month slips away, and in its wake are more books to add to my GoodReads 2017 Reading Challenge total. Three months in, my total sits at 15 books, putting me 60% of the way to my goal of 25. March was a disappointing month. I had high hopes for the five books I read, but each one left me wanting. Perhaps that’s not quite true as the final book of the month wasn’t bad, but nothing was great. None of these five hooked me once I started, and none was better than what I’d consider average. The first book was so bad I couldn’t finish it, and the next two weren’t much better. I’ve already got three books planned for April, and I’m hopeful for a more entertaining and enjoyable month. Not every book has to have a perfect rating and be an all-time favorite. Except for the final book, I didn’t enjoy anything I read I read in March. Let’s take a look back at these five books, and for my full review click on the cover art or title…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? The new baseball season begins on #PoetrySunday, and I’m torn between my normal poem, or a film review for the occasion. I have a baseball poem somewhere. If I find it, #PoetrySunday will continue as planned for the week. I’ll have a photography piece coming up of a full moon appearing in an early spring blue sky. My first book review of April is on the schedule, and I’m enjoying it a lot. A non-fiction book, and on the historical side of religion. To pair with the book, I’ll have another History Channel series review, but since it’s a mini-series, I’ll only have one piece. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

