Week in Review 4.16.2017-4.22.2017

WeekInReview4.16.2017-4.22.2017ToPublish

Here’s what I was up to this week. I skipped #PoetrySunday due to the Easter holiday and instead gave a list of films and documentaries to watch with The Films of Easter 2017. The rest of the week featured pieces from the latest book I’m reading, The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories. It’s a hardcover collector’s edition containing three smaller volumes totaling 19 short stories that became episodes, all written by Rod Serling. I began with a preview explaining how I’d review this piece. The first, and second parts got a full review during the week. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

Ticket-stubs44.16.2017 – Sunday – The Films of Easter 2017 – I didn’t want to post a poem on a Sunday holiday, and decided to update this list I made last year. I included links to anything I already reviewed. Perhaps I could have, and should have posted this earlier in the week leading to Easter, but there’s always next year for more updates and post again.

“Some holidays are more in remembrance while others are celebratory. Religious holidays, observances, regardless of the religion, fall into both categories. As I’m not religious in any way I don’t know for certain, this is all speculation on my part. However, celebratory holidays seem to share common ground. Holiday specials, themed films, and yes, even a documentary or two. Easter, Passover, the holiday that can’t decide what day to be on and changes each year, call it what you will, is no exception. While I can’t think of a particular holiday special, there are many films to watch, usually lengthy epics, and a few documentaries…”

twilightzonecompletestoriescover4.18.2017 – Tuesday – The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories (1990) Preview – I’ve been wanting to add this to my bookshelf for the last few years and was lucky enough to find a copy in excellent condition. I can’t review it as I normally would as it’s made up of three smaller collections, though I review them as I would any short story collection. In this preview I explain the reasons for breaking this into smaller reviews as well as the smaller volumes making it up and the stories they contain.

“The last two installments of my Read a New Book Month List of 10 December 2015 & December 2016 featured a few of the same books towards the top. I’m happy to say one of those books has found its way onto my personal bookshelf. It’s a hardcover collector’s edition, The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories without a single imperfection. This collection contains three smaller collections in one large volume containing 19 short stories written by the man himself, Rod Serling, that became episodes of the iconic television series…”

tzs14.19.2017 – Wednesday – The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories (1990) Part 1 – Stories From The Twilight Zone (1960) Review – The first part contains six stories from the first season of the iconic television series. I read each story and gave my thoughts on it. I also do a brief compare and contrast to the episode, and along with a review, I include episode numbers, original air dates, and a synopsis.

“The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories is a hardcover collector’s edition containing three smaller paperback volumes totaling 19 short stories written by Rod Serling. These 19 short stories are actual episodes of the iconic television series. This review takes a look at the first installment, 1960’s Stories From The Twilight Zone. All six of these short stories appeared as episodes in the inaugural season. I’ve included the episode numbers, original air date, and a synopsis along with review notes of the individual story…”

tzs24.21.2017 – Friday – The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories (1990) Part 2 – More Stories From The Twilight Zone (1961) Review – The second part contains seven stories, three from the first season, and four from the second season of the iconic television series. I read each story and gave my thoughts on it. I also do a brief compare and contrast to the episode, and along with a review, I include episode numbers, original air dates, and a synopsis.

“The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories is a hardcover collector’s edition containing three smaller paperback volumes totaling 19 short stories written by Rod Serling. These 19 short stories are actual episodes of the iconic television series. This review takes a look at the second installment, 1961’s More Stories From The Twilight Zone. Three short stories appeared as episodes in the inaugural season, and four appeared as episodes in the second season. I’ve included the episode numbers, original air date, and a synopsis along with review notes of the individual story…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? I’ll have #PoetrySunday and a new poem. There’s another photography piece on the way. The third installment of The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories will be one the way, along with a comprehensive review of the entire edition. A new season of Ancient Aliens begins next week, and I’ll have a fun little review of the new season and series overall. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

