Week in Review 4.23.2017-4.29.2017

wir

Here’s what I was up to this week. Tombstone, a deep, dark emotional poem for the broken-hearted, beautifully depressed. Flashback to Fall 2016 is a photograph I wanted to post earlier, but didn’t have room for during the season. The third installment of The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories gets reviewed, along with a comprehensive look at the entire collection. There’s a preview/overview of the new Ancient Aliens season. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

Tombstone4.23.2017 – Sunday – Tombstone – This poem speaks to the beautifully depressed. It’s for the lost-loved, broken-hearted, and I wrote it a few months ago during a horrible time in my life. I received some positive comments on it, and like all my poems, I’m proud of it. Maybe a bit more pride on this than the average poem.

“Remember when
So long it seems
An angel kissed you
In your dreams?…”

flashback2fall4.24.2017 – Monday – Flashback to Fall 2016 – One thing I wanted to do this year was post more pure photography pieces. I took this one a hike back in the fall, but couldn’t fit it into my posting schedule. Who says you can’t go back in time? The cornstalks are tall and ready to cut down, but they’ll always stand strong in this photograph.

tzs34.25.2017 – Tuesday – The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories (1990) Part 3 – New Stories From The Twilight Zone (1962) Review – The third part contains six stories from the iconic television series. I read each story and gave my thoughts on it. I also do a brief compare and contrast to the episode, and along with a review, I include episode numbers, original air dates, and a synopsis.

“The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories is a hardcover collector’s edition containing three smaller paperback volumes totaling 19 short stories written by Rod Serling. These 19 short stories are actual episodes of the iconic television series. This review takes a look at the third installment, 1962’s New Stories From The Twilight Zone. Of the six short stories, three appeared as episodes in the second season, and three appeared as episodes in the third season. I’ve included the episode numbers, original air date, and a synopsis along with review notes of the individual story…”

ancient-aliens4.27.2017 – Thursday – Ancient Aliens Season 11 Preview – I don’t watch television other than news and sports these days. Here’s the exception. I love this show and have since the two-hour special that spawned the series. I do one every time they start a new season, and it’s more of an overview, an introduction, than a preview.

“On Friday, April 28, 2017, the History Channel premieres a new season of Ancient Aliens. This will be the 11th season. The first true episode debuted on April 20, 2010. This is something special. Eleven seasons is a milestone for a History Channel series not reality based. I’m not complaining. I love Ancient Aliens. The History Channel has a way of giving a series one season then canceling it. MysteryQuest comes to mind as does Giorgio Tsoukalos’ In Search of Aliens and Bible Secrets Revealed. Other shows get canceled after a good run because “the channel is going in a different direction,” think Gangland or MonsterQuest. I need to write something about the History Channel…”

twilightzonecompletestoriescover4.28.2017 – Friday – The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories (1990) Review – The three parts received their own review, now I look at the being they create. In each review before, the focus was on the stories. Here, I try to talk a bit about each part, what worked and didn’t work, and how they contribute to the collection.

“The strange and bizarre fifth dimension beyond the boundaries of imagination. A realm of fantasy, science fiction, horror, terror, suspense, and mystery. The characters, setting, and genre change, but there’s a constant in this incredible world of make-believe known as The Twilight Zone. Rod Serling, creator, producer, narrator, host, and writer. Of the 156 series episodes, he wrote 92 of them. The Twilight Zone: Complete Stories contains 19 short stories written by Serling which became episodes of the series…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A poem will be on the way as usual on Sunday, but I’m not sure which one I’ll use. I have a piece discussing blogging schedules and I’ll ask the community to join in the conversation. April comes to a close and I’ll look back on the month’s reading endeavors. I may even sneak in the first book of May. My next blog review project is in the works, and I’ll have the opening introduction piece to set the table. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

