Week in Review 5.7.2017-5.13.2017

WeekInReview5.7.2017-5.13.2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. I combined two previous poems with the same theme and title into a single piece, The Elephant Riders Parts I & II, to accompany the book review. Through the Trees is a photograph with an artistic edge using a filter effect. The book review of the week is 2017’s Hannibal, a biography of Hannibal Barca. The first disc of the History Channel’s 2008 documentary series, Rome: Rise and Fall of an Empire got reviewed. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

hannibal-barca-elphehant5.7.2017 – Sunday – The Elephant Riders Parts I & II – I wrote these a few years ago and posted them as separate poems within my first year of blogging. Due to the book I reviewed this week, I felt it was a good time to dust these poems off and combine them into a single post. I love the image I found to go with it. The subject is the Carthage army who followed Hannibal Barca over the Alps in the 200s B.C. to attack Rome on Italian soil.

I
Known to history as the elephant riders
Those brave Carthaginians who dare follow Hannibal
Over frozen mountain terrain
Only one goal in mind: Destroy Rome…”

ThroughtheTrees5.8.2017 – Monday – Through the Trees – I took this photograph a month or so ago during a hike. The original photograph didn’t turn out so well, but then I played around with some filters and effects. My experiment turned out for the better and improved the photograph. The sun stands out more peeking through the trees and has more of an impact.

hannibalcover5.9.2017 – Tuesday – Hannibal (2017) Review – Thanks to fine folks at NetGalley, I received an uncorrected copy of the new Hannibal Barca biography to review. If you’re into this type of thing, you’ll want to check it out later in the year when it gets an official release. I’ve included the date in the review.

“Hannibal. A name that inspired fear long before Thomas Harris wrote a book, Anthony Hopkins immortalized a character, or Mads Mikkelsen added a fresh face and a new spin. No, this isn’t Hannibal “The Cannibal” Lector. The Hannibal in question is Hannibal Barca, the great general of ancient Carthage. Perhaps best known for his “Elephant Riders,” leading an army over the Alps to wage war against mighty Rome in Italy. In his 2017 biography, Patrick N. Hunt does more than introduce one of history’s great military minds. He introduces the times, places, battles, and opposition surrounding Hannibal. From birth and rise to power to eventual fall in defeat and later death, Hunt documents Hannibal’s influence on not only his great enemy Rome, but the world, and does an outstanding job…”

romerise&fallofanempirecover5.11.2017 – Thursday – Rome: Rise & Fall of an Empire (2008) Disc 1 Review – I recently got this DVD set used on eBay and decided it would make for a good review project. The first disc of the collection contains four parts of the thirteen-part documentary. Be sure to follow along for the next few Thursdays as we go back in time and watch Rome rise out of a republic into an empire until the eventual fall.

#1 – The First Barbarian War

Original Air Date: July 21, 2008

Synopsis: The dawn of the Roman Empire in 113 B.C. The Roman Republic faces two dire choices. Defeat at the hands of an invading barbarian horde from the north, or place power into the hands of a single man, forever changing Rome’s political landscape…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A poem will be on the way as usual on Sunday. It’ll be another one of those dark poems for the beautifully depressed. I’ll have another book to review, this one dealing with the paranormal. The second disc of Rome: Rise and Fall of an Empire is on the way to round out the week. I’m approaching my two-year blogging anniversary, and I’ll have a special piece to celebrate the occasion on Friday. I hope you’ll join me for the festivities. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

