My Second Year of Blogging – A Milestone Anniversary

free-fireworks-image-11

I’m coming up on a milestone anniversary as a blogger. My blog, Drew Martin Writes, will turn two years old on Saturday, May 21, 2017. The first piece I posted, No Genre Needed, went up on that date two years ago. The first piece was in effect a mission statement. It explained why my blog wouldn’t have a set theme or genre, and why I didn’t want it to have one. More than explain my blogging philosophy, this piece explains my overall writing philosophy. To be honest, it covers any art form as far as I’m concerned. I still stand by it, every last word. This piece is special for another reason as it marks my 500th post. I’m proud to see my blog still going strong. It was a struggle in 2015 when it didn’t appear I was getting readers as the views were low. Since the start of 2016, I experienced a sizeable growth, more growth than I ever expected, continuing on and even surpassing those numbers so far in 2017. For all you new bloggers out there, don’t give up, and try to keep a weekly schedule to keep the content coming.

This blog has helped me develop as a writer more than anything else, and more than I ever hoped it would. It brought my focus back to writing. More than that, it brought a focus to my writing outside of the blog. I’m thinking of ideas for short stories, book concepts, and actually turning those ideas into more than mere thoughts or notes on a page. Over the last year, I’ve put together a poetry collection inspired by The Twilight Zone, a novel, and I’m working on a short story collection inspired by Danzig-era Misfits song titles. It helps to have an actual audience, regardless of the size, to give you the support to improve yourself and take your art form to the next level. Each view, comment, like, and follower mean more than the simple number they represent. I see them as signs of encouragement. Thank you.

Top Five Most Liked Posts

 BluesmanBluesman On the Corner – A simple poem about a homeless musician who still plays for the love of playing and not worrying who his audience is. I posted this with no rhyme or reason, and it became my most popular post.

sheShe – The photo, I think, had a lot to do with the success of the piece. I’m quite proud of it, and because I liked it so much I was afraid to post because the one’s I really like don’t always get the best response. There’s a lot here, but our lady in question is her own woman and doesn’t bow to society’s whims.

couldbealienuseCould Be Alien – I wrote this poem a few years ago, and here we have another example of an image contributing to the success of a piece. I needed a poem to post, found this, and gave it an edit. There was no rhyme or reason behind the posting, or writing.

100_0225Cinnamon – People like posts about cats. Why not? Cats are awesome. This is a poem about one of my former pride, a little orange cat named Cinnamon. I wrote a few sentences explaining a special bond. I took the photograph as well.

riddler_question_marks2How Do Followers Impact WordPress Stats? – There always seems to be a non-poetry piece sneaking in to fill the final spot. From time to time I have blogging questions, and no better people to ask than the bloggers themselves. The community really responded and there’s a ton of comments. We got a nice discussion going, so if you haven’t read this piece, go ahead and don’t forget the comments, and feel free to leave one of your own.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

5 Comments Add yours

  1. gary loggins says:

    Good stuff, Drew. Persistence is the key to developing a blogging audience. I believe if you’re producing quality content, the audience will find their way to you. You’ve certainly proved that! Congrats, and keep on keepin’ on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you sir, and congrats on reaching your 500th post milestone also.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. gary loggins says:

        Thanks right back at ya!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

