Week in Review 5.14.2017-5.20.2017

WeekInReview5.14.2017-5.20.2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. Dying Hope is another one of those deep and dark poems for the beautifully depressed. Thanks to the fine folks at NetGalley, I received a review copy of Nick Redfern’s new book, Shapeshifters. The second disc of the History Channel’s 2008 documentary series, Rome: Rise and Fall of an Empire gets reviewed. It’s a time to celebrate as my blog turns two, and I wrote a celebration piece to mark the milestone. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

dyinghope5.14.2017 – Sunday – Dying Hope – Another deep and dark poem for the beautifully depressed. Short and stark are a few other words to describe this piece of written artistic expression. If you’re down, take solace in knowing you aren’t the only, and find inspiration to create beautiful things of your own.

“Strings of fire
Broken glass
Below the darkness
Come to pass…”

shapeshifterscover5.16.2017 – Tuesday – Shapeshifters (2017) ReviewMonsterQuest and Ancient Aliens alumni Nick Redfern is back with another book. He’s written several over the years, and this one deals with the shapeshifting phenomena. He doesn’t focus on a specific being or report, and this acts more as a catalog of shapeshifting creatures. A crash course with many brief introductions to a phenomenon that often goes overlooked in paranormal circles.

“Ever since I was a young boy, I’ve had an interest in the paranormal. I can thank Robert Stack and Unsolved Mysteries. Of course, like everything else, some aspects hold more interest than others. Also, like everything else, well, most things at least, there’s always more to learn. I’ve not heard a lot about shapeshifters, and I don’t think I’m alone. Sure, we all know werewolves, vampires, and maybe even a witch or two. There’s more to the phenomenon than good ideas for Halloween costumes. In his upcoming 2017 book, Shapeshifters: Morphing Monsters & Changing Cryptids, Nick Redfern opens our minds to many shapeshifting beings, as well as a few we may know with a different twist. Redfern’s graced many documentaries and television series’, notably the History Channel’s MonsterQuest and Ancient Aliens, so he does have a few qualifications…”

romerise&fallofanempirecover5.18.2017 – Thursday – Rome: Rise & Fall of an Empire (2008) Disc 2 Review – I recently got this DVD set used on eBay and decided it would make for a good review project. The second disc of the collection contains three parts of the thirteen-part documentary. Be sure to follow along for the next two Thursdays as we go back in time and watch Rome rise out of a republic into an empire until the eventual fall.

#5 – The Invasion of Britain

Original Air Date: August 18, 2008

Synopsis: Under Emperor Claudius, Rome invades Britain to civilize the Celtic barbarians during the 40s A.D…”

free-fireworks-image-115.19.2017 – Friday – My Second Year of Blogging – A Milestone Anniversary – On Sunday, May 21, my blog turns two. I wrote a piece to celebrate my first year, and I’ve updated it to reflect on my second year in celebration. I’ve included links to my “Top 5” most liked pieces over the years, and please if you haven’t already, check them out. There’s four poetry pieces, and a thought piece asking a question of the blogging community.

“I’m coming up on a milestone anniversary as a blogger. My blog, Drew Martin Writes, will turn two years old on Saturday, May 21, 2017. The first piece I posted, No Genre Needed, went up on that date two years ago. The first piece was in effect a mission statement. It explained why my blog wouldn’t have a set theme or genre, and why I didn’t want it to have one. More than explain my blogging philosophy, this piece explains my overall writing philosophy. To be honest, it covers any art form as far as I’m concerned. I still stand by it, every last word. This piece is special for another reason as it marks my 500th post. I’m proud to see my blog still going strong. It was a struggle in 2015 when it didn’t appear I was getting readers as the views were low. Since the start of 2016, I experienced a sizeable growth, more growth than I ever expected, continuing on and even surpassing those numbers so far in 2017. For all you new bloggers out there, don’t give up, and try to keep a weekly schedule to keep the content coming…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A poem will be on the way as usual on Sunday. I’m going into the vault to share the first poem I posted two years ago. Also, I’ll be sharing the first piece I ever write for my blog, part writing tip, writing philosophy, and mission statement. I’ll have another book review, this one’s about Buddha. The third disc of Rome: Rise and Fall of an Empire is on the way to round out the week. It’s a big week, and I’d like to have a special reflective piece on Friday. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

One Comment Add yours

  1. jerennazuto says:

    Your blog sounds interesting I’m definitely following. I am like that too with respect to genre. I started writing philosophical thoughts, now along with prose and poetry. I’m writing a variety of content. I have been meaning to include fiction too, just don’t want to increase my burden all at the time. Even though I wrote everything I want, I always feels like a lesser bloggers for going all over the place compared to blogs with specific theme and goal, but your post and blog inspired and cleared that thought. I’m going to indulge in every creative writing I can! Thank you!
    In case you want to check out my blog, itsallaboutnothingg.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

