The Pitfalls of Poetry & Photography

writingtip

Poetry and photography. Two popular blog categories which share the same pitfalls. To be honest, they’re in a tie for most popular. The popularity is the key pitfall, the main obstruction in getting your post the views, likes, and overall appreciation it deserves. What causes the popularity? How can we, as dedicated bloggers, overcome it and find our place to get our posts recognized? Allow me to offer a few insights and try to answer these questions.

I think the main reason for the popularity is the ease in creating content. A person can write many poems in a single day. A person can take many photographs in a single day. The content’s created with a minimum amount of effort. This leads to another issue as bloggers feel compelled to post multiple pieces a day. This adds to the swell, burring other posts. It’s counter intuitive as it buries their previous posts as well.

So, how do we overcome the pitfalls? How do we dig our posts out and try to let them breath again? As far as I know, there’s only one answer, and it only works on the day of posting. I’ll be doing another piece where I go into the process in more detail, but the answer is to repost. By repost, I mean reschedule. I’ve been playing around with this idea for the last few weeks, and I wish I’d thought of it sooner. However, WordPress’ scheduler and tag finder failed often, but with the latest site updates things seem to be improving.

Reschedule. Once. Twice. As many times as you like, but space them out. Even this can be tricky and complicated. Have no fear fellow bloggers, I’m working on a guide to simplify the process. It might not be for everyone, but it’s been working so far for me. Don’t fear the pitfalls of popular blog categories. Help is on the way.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Candia says:

    I think well-crafted poems may take a much longer time to produce…. Also, sometimes I think the photograph is stunning, but the poem is poor and struggle to put a ‘like’ on the image when I think the poem is sub-standard. When the two work together, the impact is very successful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TechieInAk says:

    Poetry, not my cup of tea I’m afraid. I’m a bit “tone deaf” in that department. But, the reposting suggestion is good advice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      I hope to have a guide next week.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing, can’t wait to hear more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

