Week in Review 6.11.2017-6.17.2017

WeekInReview6.11.2017-6.17.2017

Here’s what I was up to this week. Fairies of the Isle is a new poem with a Celtic folklore inspiration. Posting poetry and photography have similar pitfalls and I explored them. Thanks to the fine folks at NetGalley I received a review copy of a book about a serial killer I’ve never heard of, The Truth about Belle Gunness. To round out the week, I review a true classic comedy film, Blazing Saddles. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

fairiesoftheisle6.11.2017 – Sunday – Fairies of the Isle – I’m Irish, and in this poem, I revisited some of my heritage folklore. A whimsical poem without a true meaning. There’s nothing serious here. It’s a light-hearted glimpse at the creatures who inhabit the enchanted realm of the emerald isle.

“In a sunlit lamp
Sat fairies of the isle
Waiting on the mystic moon
With patience and a smile…”

writingtip6.12.2017 – Monday – The Pitfalls of Poetry & Photography – I’ve posted poetry since I started my blog over two years ago. Lately, I’ve been posting more photography pieces. I’ve noticed a trend between the two, and they share similar pitfalls. I explore them and give advice on how to overcome them.

“Poetry and photography. Two popular blog categories which share the same pitfalls. To be honest, they’re in a tie for most popular. The popularity is the key pitfall, the main obstruction in getting your post the views, likes, and overall appreciation it deserves. What causes the popularity? How can we, as dedicated bloggers, overcome it and find our place to get our posts recognized? Allow me to offer a few insights and try to answer these questions…”bellegunnesscover6.13.2017 – Tuesday – The Truth about Belle Gunness (2017) Review – Since high school, I’ve been into serial killers. This tale has eluded me, and I can’t explain the reason. It’s buried in history, and should be in a more prominent light. The Belle Gunness story is a bizarre mystery worthy of the read by true crime, serial killer, and real-life mystery fans. Why did I never see Robert Stack talking about this on Unsolved Mysteries?

“Truth is often stranger than fiction. The bizarre case of Belle Gunness is a prime example. Her story slips under the radar, and I don’t know the reason she’s lost in history. I’ve been studying serial killers since high school, and I can’t recall reading, watching, or hearing the first word about the Norwegian immigrant who haunted La Porte, Indiana. She might be America’s first female serial killer as she racked up a prolific total during the late 1800s and early 1900s. The overall total is unknown as is the knowledge of what actually happened to the woman. In the 2017 reissue of her 1955 book, The Truth about Belle Gunness: The True Story of Notorious Serial Killer Hell’s Belle, author Lillian de la Torre goes in search of the truth…”

blazingsaddlescover6.15.2017 – Thursday – Blazing Saddles (1974) Review – I don’t use the term “classic” loosely. However, here we have a true classic comedy of cinema. Mel Brooks ground, and wind breaking 1974 film is a true gem worthy of the label. A western parody taking its cue from the Gary Cooper High Noon and skewering the genre at every turn. If you’re easily offended, you might want to skip this, but it’s well worth a view. Several views.

“Never give a saga an even break. That’s the tagline, and could as easily be Mel Brooks’ motto. He never has and certainly didn’t in 1974 with a western spoof breaking more ground than they did to build the railroads. The entire genre of Hollywood westerns gets the treatment in typical Brooks fashion. If there’s one film serving as the basis, the foundation, it has to be 1952’s High Noon starring Gary Cooper. A sheriff with a posse of outlaws after him, complete with a catchy tune during the opening credits. There’s a few original songs here and Brooks either wrote the lyrics or the entire thing. Blazing Saddles is a true comedy classic worthy of the label…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A poem will be on the way as usual on Sunday. I’ve got another brand-new offering to share, and I hope I can find a good image to go with it. I’ll have a guide on how to reschedule posts to get more views. As a cat man, no better book to review than a book about fellow cat men. I’ll also have a review of something worth watching. I’m not sure what yet, and not sure if it will be a television presentation of a film. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

