Week in Review 7.30.2017-8.5.2017

WeekInReview7.30.2017-8.5.2017.jpg

Here’s what I was up to this week. After All These Years is a poem dealing with recent life events and loss. July 2017 Top Posts of the Month is something new where I look back at the month’s top viewed pieces. July 2017 Reading Endeavors is the monthly piece where I look back at the books I read during the month. To round out the week, I reviewed 2015’s Mad Max: Fury Road. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

afteralltheseyears7.30.2017 – Sunday – After All These Years – I wrote this poem almost a year ago after my marriage fell apart. Writing it helped me deal with the situation in my own way. I’m at the point where I feel I can share a few of these with you. My hope is that if you have or you are going through similar situations, you can take something positive from the poem, if nothing else you aren’t alone.

“I see your pretty face
In a mirror of broken glass
Don’t even want to sweep it
Just leave it in the past…”

july20177.31.2017 – Monday – July 2017 Top Posts of the Month – A new, dare I say, series. At the end of each month I look back at the books I read over the month. It gave me the idea to look back over the top viewed pieces at the end of each month. I’ll try this for a while and each month will list the top five pieces of the month.

“At the end of each month, I take a look back at that month’s reading endeavors. I got the idea to try a new, dare I say, series, but I can’t think of a better word to use. July marks the first time I’ll look back and do a piece showcasing, highlighting my top pieces of the month. This will be a top five list featuring the pieces which received the most views. As I’ve already explained, WordPress won’t allow us to sort by likes. I still don’t understand why that concept is so hard for them to implement. So, as July comes to a close, let’s take a look back at the top pieces of the month. To read the full piece, click on the cover art or title…”

july2017readingendeavors8.1.2017 – Tuesday – July 2017 Reading Endeavors – Oh July, what a bad month of reading you turned out to be. The month held such promise, but two books let me down, and one in a major way. Unfortunately, I bought it, but at least I got it used. All three of these books are non-fiction, with two on the history side of the spectrum.

“Another month comes to an end, and it’s time to take a look back at the books I read in July. The three books for the month raised my overall total to 31 books for the year. This raises my GoodReads Reading Challenge percentage to 124. Can hit 200%? I guess we’ll see how that goes…”

madmaxfuryroadcover8.3.2017 – Thursday – Mad Max: Fury Road (2015) Review – A few months ago I reviewed the original Mad Max trilogy, and sort of promised I’d get around to reviewing the latest entry in the franchise. While I enjoyed the film on its own, I didn’t enjoy it as a Mad Max film. I explain my reasons in the review, and as always, I don’t spoil the plot.

“Can you have a Mad Max film without Mel Gibson? Can you have a Mad Max film where Max doesn’t feel like the hero/lead character? I guess the answer is yes. In 2015, the latest film in the saga hit theaters, Mad Max: Fury Road. The question isn’t so much “can you?” as much as “should you?” Then the answer is a resounding no…”

 That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A poem will be on the way as usual on Sunday. I’ve got plenty of poems, most of them downers right now so I’m not sure what to use. Recently, I completed on on-line class provided by TCM and I’ll give my thoughts on it. I haven’t started a new book, so there may or may not be a book review, but there’s going to be a film review. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

