Week in Review 8.6.2017-8.12.2017

wir

Here’s what I was up to this week. Sorrows From the Night Before is an old poem with some depth beneath the surface. TCM Presents The Master of Suspense: 50 Years of Hitchcock (2017) Review is a review of an on-line class I finished. Speaking of Hitchcock, I rounded out the week with Strangers on a Train (1951) Review. Click the image or the title to read the piece. If you like it, click the like the button, and if you feel inclined, leave me a comment. All feedback is welcome. I post a nice eclectic mix. Be sure to click the follow button so you don’t miss anything.

sorrowsfromthenightbefore8.7.2017 – Sunday – Sorrows From the Night Before – I wrote this poem several years ago and picked it at random over the other poems I had ready. The hard part is finding an image to accompany poetry, but I think I did a good job here. I loved the response, and if you haven’t read it yet, take a minute to check it out.

“Sorrows from the night before
Stand sulking on your basement floor
While in your attic, tomorrow’s dreams
Are clinging fast to their beams…”

50YearsofHitchcock8.8.2017 – Monday – TCM Presents The Master of Suspense: 50 Years of Hitchcock (2017) Review – For the last few summers, TCM has offered an on-line class to go along with a certain month-long celebration on the channel. This year, the focus was on Alfred Hitchcock. It was an enjoyable experience, and thanks to TCM and Ball State professor Richard Edwards.

“Over the past six weeks I’ve been taking a free on-line class, but a class where the focus is on a fun learning experience more than a grade. Thanks to the Canvas.net platform, which offers a large variety of free on-line classes, I was able to participate in my second class offered by TCM. Yes, TCM, Turner Classic Movies. They offer a yearly course to go along with a big celebration getting showcased on the channel. Last year dealt with slapstick comedy. It was fun, but with so much to fit into a short time frame I felt a lot got left out as far as what I wanted to learn. This year, the class had a narrower scope, Alfred Hitchcock. The narrow scope made for a better experience, and while I’m not a huge Hitch fan, TCM Presents The Master of Suspense: 50 Years of Hitchcock gave me a better understanding and appreciation of the famed director…”

strangersonatraincover8.11.2017 – Thursday – Strangers on a Train (1951) Review – This film had a few major talking points in the class mentioned. I’d never seen it, or read the original novel. I like to read the novel, then watch the film, but I thought the film would make for a good review on its own. After watching the film, I don’t think the Bruno Antony character would come across with the same villainous characteristics as it did on film.

“Strangers on a Train appears from time to time in pop culture references. In one of the first seasons of Modern Family an episode follows the plot of the film, and the film’s plot gets explained to get the story going. While I had heard of it, I never had a want or a need to watch. Recently, I took an on-line class, TCM Presents The Master of Suspense: 50 Years of Hitchcock. There was quite the lesson on this film, so I decided to give it a try. Well dear readers, I tried it, and I liked it. There’s so much going on in the film with plenty of suspense from the master Alfred Hitchcock. He directs a thrilling, suspenseful piece, and the heart of the film is a heel you love to hate…”

That’s it for this past week. What’s coming up this week? A poem will be on the way as usual on Sunday. I really don’t know what’s coming up this week. With my work schedule, I’m so tired during the week I can’t think of what to post and I have to do it all on the weekends. I’ll either have a photograph, or a creative writing piece. Perhaps I’ll be able to get a book review, but I will have a film review on the way. College football season is open us and with it comes my weekly previews so be looking out for those in the coming weeks and months. As always, I invite you to click the follow button so you won’t miss anything. I’ll be writing, and I hope you’ll be reading.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

Leave a Reply

