Life & Stuff IV: A Year of Separation

3

On September 13, I’ll reach a year of separation from my wife. I hinted at this in the original installment of Life & Stuff a year ago. A year later, it’s a bit easier to accept, a bit easier to deal with, but sometimes I still wish everything would go back to the way it used to be. Less each day though, and that’s probably a good thing. Maybe that’s the way these things go as I doubt I’m the only one who feels like this. Regardless, I can write about it now, and I’ve shared two poems I wrote within those first few weeks to try to help me deal with the situation, After All These Years and Already on the Moon. I don’t know how much writing helped me, but maybe reading them can help some of you.

With Virginia being a commonwealth, the laws are a bit different. Then again, Virginia’s a strange beast among her fellow commonwealths. Now that a year has gone by, we can finally file for our divorce, and I can proceed on the path of putting my life back in order. That’ll be another installment for another day. I don’t know why I’m writing, or if anyone will care. It feels good to do it. If you’re going through the same thing, you aren’t alone in your plight. If you’ve been through it, you know there’s another place on the other side, and hopefully it’s better. The healing process isn’t easy, fun, or short, but in the immortal words of the Grateful Dead, “I will get by/We will get by.”

Copyright © Drew Martin 2017

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Suze says:

    Virginia was a pain in the patootie to gain a divorce back when I got mine. We had a year separation requirement AND marital counseling before we could divorce. Two court appearances, AND it wasn’t no fault. Someone had to have screwed up royally and proof had to be obtained. It was, quite frankly, as horrible as living with my abusive spouse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Probably because it wasn’t no fault. Hopefully this will be easier.

      Like

Leave a comment