Something Wicked This Way Comes (1983) Review

In my quest for content, sometimes I come across things I’d rather not review because I’d rather not experience them. One such example often occurs during book and film comparisons. Unfortunately, this is one of those “dark” times. I knew Something Wicked This Way Comes was a film before I knew it was a novel. Having never seen the film, and finding the novel on both Scribd and Audible, it only made sense to read, then watch and review both. The novel is from 1962, written by the celebrated American writer Ray Bradbury. The film is from 1983, and a Disney film at that. Honestly, I didn’t read anything in the novel that needs a film adaptation. At best, the novel is third shelf, and if not for the audio book, I’d rate lower and maybe even give it a “DNF.” The same goes for the film, although the film had a better ending, it’s second shelf, and only because I forced my way through it.

The film uses Bradbury’s novel as the base. Bradbury himself wrote the screenplay. The two aren’t exact mirror images. As is almost always the case, the book has more, as films have to fit time constraints and certain pieces get cut. As for a comparison, while not mirror images, they are close enough to convey the original story of the novel in the film. Jack Clayton is the director with Peter Douglas as producer. Walt Disney Productions and The Bryna Company serve as production companies while Buena Vista Distribution handled distribution of Something Wicked This Way Comes. The wickedness came to theaters on April 29, 1983. I normally don’t mention money during these reviews, but I’m far from the lone person who isn’t a fan of the film. The budget was around $20 million. It grossed around $8.4 million at the box office. That’s not a very good investment at all. There’s many less than special effects. I realize the time it’s made, but from Disney one would expect more. It seems they weren’t even trying. Lots of “green screen” work you can tell are “green screens.” Lots of odd looking lights, lightening, and the carousel work is horrible.

Our villain, Mr. Dark, looked nothing as I imagined from the novel. His “illustrations” on his arm, shown only once, are horrible. In fact, Mr. Dark might be the lone cast member a modern viewer might recognize, especially if they look at IMDb. He’s played by Jonathan Pryce. You might know him best as the High Sparrow from Game of Thrones. Classic film fans will recognize Angelo Rossitto in his signature “creepy little man” role. Fans of classic television will recognize Andy Griffith Show alums Mary Grace Canfield and Jack Dodson. Diane Ladd makes a few appearances, though nothing worth her billed near the top. The same with 1970s “blaxploitation’s” leading lady, Pam Grier.

Something Wicked This Way Comes rambles on for around 95 minutes. It seems a lot longer. I have to make a warning because no one warned me. If you don’t like spiders, there’s one particular “nightmare” scene you’ll have to look away from the screen. Why second shelf? I don’t do half-shelves. Who ever heard of a half-shelf? I reserve the bottom shelf for all those dreaded “DNF” entities. This one, even though I think it’s horrible, I finished.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2023

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment