Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey (2019) Review

I hate wanting to play a game for years, but seeing reviews that make me question if I should give it a try or not. Then, I finally get a chance to play said game, and I absolutely hate within 10 or 15 minutes of firing it up. This, dear friends and fellow gamers, is a review of such a game, 2019’s Ancestors: The Humankind Odyssey. Released on the Xbox One/PS4 on December 18, 2019, Ancestors is a Panache Digital Games creation. That studio developed the game, while Private Division served as publisher. A true waste of time, and a below the bottom shelf “DNF” entry. I’m horribly disappointed.

So, what’s the deal? Basically, it’s a “life simulation,” or maybe more like an “evolution simulation.” I wish I could’ve played as an alien, but the way Ancestors plays, I’d hate that too. You play as a monkey in the early days of primate evolution, trying to evolve and get your species to a higher life form. I think. There isn’t a story, characters, missions, quests, objectives, nothing. Not even a guide. I had no idea what my objective was or what I was doing. I had no story. No goal to reach, mission to complete. I just found myself in the jungle, not knowing what to do or really how to do it. Ancestors proves a pointless waste. I play for fun, but I need a reason to play, to advance the story, and a character. You don’t have any of that here, and I’m not playing games for added frustration to my life, but a simple, enjoying, and entertaining release. This ain’t it.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2024

Leave a comment