Fear and Loathing in Aspen (2021) Review

Sometimes you come across something about a subject you hold you so dear and you think, yeah, that’s the ticket, but you get the fear. The fear comes from your love, your attachment to the subject. You’re afraid you’ll get disappointed, hate it, and waste time. Dr. Hunter S. Thompson is such a subject for me. As far as films about him go, we have Bill Murray in 1980’s Where the Buffalo Roam, a horrible depiction of the “good doctor” and a goddamn awful film. Later, we got Johnny Depp in 1998’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. A far better depiction and a far better film. In 2021, a little known film appeared, and I couldn’t even find a Wiki page, so forgive the lack of information. Fear and Loathing in Aspen with Jay Bulger as Thompson. It’s a film about Thompson’s 1970 run for Sheriff of Pitkin County in Colorado. The film is more drama than comedy, but very good. Bulger does a believably good job as Thompson. I’m shocked to say I recommend the film and give it a spot on the revered and respected fourth shelf.

I got a bit shocked at the main name behind the film. He’s the son of the politician, RFK Jr. Bobby Kennedy III, sat in the director’s chair and wrote the screenplay. He also plays Rolling Stone founder Jann Wenner. It’s an unsung cast. The only recognizable face, name, or credit is Modern Family’s Cheryl Hines. Again, forgive me please for lack of information as I couldn’t find a Wiki page. I enjoyed Fear and Loathing in Aspen along with Bulger’s performance. I want, if nothing else, to make my fellow Thompson fans aware of this film, and give them a recommendation to watch it. It isn’t the “buddy comedy” of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, but it’s a damn good film. It’s only an hour and 22 minutes, or something along those lines. Bulger steals the show.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2024

Leave a comment