Punk Rock Ballerina

b1c5dc00e2d1176b72c44de8e311964e
Punk rock ballerina
Movin’ ‘cross the floor
Never seen beauty
Wrapped in pain before
Takin’ delicate steps
In worn-out shoes
A graceful agony
Tattered abuse

Punk rock ballerina
Alone on the stage
Her only partners
Are anger and rage
Glidin’ through the motions
In total silence
Expresses every ounce
Of exceptional violence.

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Suze says:

    holy crap! okay, I have to categorically state that I can not stand poetry. I used to “write” it when I was an introverted and ignored teenager…..but I really never understood how anyone normal could actually like the stuff. Then there was you. holy cow, you paint pictures in my mind. I could see that poor girl dancing to hide her pain. I think I may actually start reading other peotry now if this is what I have been missing. http://www.suziland.net

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you very much for the kind words. I post a poem every Sunday and thought this one would do well. It didn’t come anywhere close to the views or likes I was expecting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment