Mirror, Mirror

MirrorMirror

Looking in your daydream mirror
Little girl, what do you see?
Reflections of what’s really there
Or what you wish would be?

Another face
With eyes aware
Mind your manners
Mustn’t stare

I see your smile
It’s upside down
Little girl
No need to frown

Mirror, mirror
On the wall
I don’t want
To look at all

Mirror, mirror
On the shelf
What does it mean
To be yourself?

I don’t know
Not sure I should
Or if I did
That I could

Looking in your nightmare mirror
Little girl, what do you see?
Reflections of what’s never there
Or what will always be?

Copyright © Drew Martin 2016

6 Comments Add yours

  1. mywords2228 says:

    Wow, this is an amazing piece. I can’t stop reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew Martin says:

      Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I wrote it with a Pink Floyd/Alice in Wonderland idea in mind and to make it a bit dark.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. mywords2228 says:

        Your welcome. Wow, cool well I definitely liked the end result,and being inspired by things we like sometimes really make a piece interesting and great.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Drew Martin says:

        It does indeed. Thanks for the comments.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. mywords2228 says:

        Your welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment